Clare U-16 girls reach All-Ireland Final


Clare U-16 girls reach All-Ireland Final


All Ireland under 16B Semi Final At New Inn Co Tipperary Saturday
18th August 2007

Clare 4 – 11 Wexford 2 – 11

Clare travelled to New Inn Co. Tipperary on Saturday last to take
on Wexford in the All Ireland U16B semi final and came away with
a six point victory. Clare is now in an All Ireland Final to be
played on September 15th at a Galway venue against Mayo or Sligo
Wexford did all the early running and had a point from Roisin
Murphy from the throw in this was the only time Wexford led in
the game. Sinead Moloney opened for Clare in the second minute
after good work for Sally Glynn and Niamh O’Dea to put the side’s
level. Clare piled on the pressure and if it was not for good
work from Amy Ryan at full back and Georgina Hearne at corner
back for Wexford Clare would be well ahead. The break through
came in the sixth minute when Shonagh Enright send Eimear Considine
through to score Clare first goal to put three points between
the side. Wexford hit back with points from Aoife Dunne and Karen
Tomkins to reduce Clare lead. Megan Haugh pointed for Clare after
eleven minutes Niamh O’Dea added a point a minute later to restore
three points lead. Natalie Cushe pulled one back for Wexford in
the sixteen minute and then Clare moved Naomi Carroll to full
forward in a switch with Megan Haugh in the eighteen minute and
Naomi Carroll goaled for Clare a minute later after good work
form Eimear Considine and Sinead Moloney. Niamh O’Dea pointed
for Clare two minutes later Aoife Tormey pulled a point back for
Wexford in the twenty first minute. Naomi Carroll and Eimear Considine
pointed for Clare with five minutes left. Wexford piled on the
pressure from here to the finish and were rewarded when Referee
Gerry Guinan awarded a penalty after a foul on Aoifa Dunne with
two minutes left Maeve Keogh took the penalty shot which was well
saved by Rebecca Smyth in the Clare goals and it was Sandra Lawlor
goaled for Wexford from the rebound with minutes left.

At this stage Wexford were in a happier position facing the second
half with a strong wind behind them only four points down Half
time score Clare 2 – 6 Wexford 1 – 5 Clare from the throw in applied
the early pressure and were first to score with a point from play
by Shonagh Enright after good work by Eimear O’Connor at mid field.
Wexford hit back and with the strong wind had points from Maeve
Keogh and Aoifa Tormey to leave three points between the sides.
Wexford were piling on the pressure but the Clare six backs held
solid led by Roisin McMahon at centre back. Clare added points
for Sinead Maloney and Eimear O’Connor and Wexford pulled on back
from Sonja Murphy after ten minutes to leave the score Clare 2
– 9 Wexford 1 – 8. Naomi Carroll scored her second goal for Clare
after good work for Eimear Considine from the kick out in the
fifteen minute this was followed by point for Clare by Niamh O’Dea
a minute later. Wexford hit back with a goal from Maeve Keogh
who send a rocket of a shot passed the Clare Keeper Rebecca Smyth
after good work by Sandra Lawlor and Miriam Smith. Aoife Dunne
pointed for Wexford with ten minutes left. Naomi Carroll goaled
for Clare two minutes later and been send through by Niamh O’Dea.

All Ireland Finalists 2007 – Clare U-16
B Team

Wexford hit back with points form Aoife Dunne and Sonja Murphy
with minutes left. Naomi Carroll had Clare final score on full
time a point for play to leave the score as stated and Clare through
to an All Ireland Final. Eimear Considine was outstanding for
Clare at centre forward and mid field as was Naomi Carroll who
scored three goals and two points and was unlucky not to have
added another two goals or at least a penalty. Others to play
well for Clare were Rebecca Smyth Niamh Cavanagh Roisin McMahon
Ciara Harvey Sally Glynn Eimear O’Connor Shonagh Enright and Sinead

Scorers: Naomi Carroll 3 – 2 Eimear Considine 1 – 1 Niamh O’Dea
0 – 3 Sinead Maloney 0 – 2 Megan Haugh 0 – 1 Shonagh Enright 0
– 1 Eimear O’Connor 0 – 1

Clare Team; Rebecca Smyth (Cooraclare) Laurie Ryan (Banner) Niamh
Martin (capt) (Banner) Niamh Cavanagh (Banner) Catherine Danaher
(Wolfetones) Roisin McMahon (Newmarket) Ciara Harvey (West Clare
Gaels) Sally Glynn (Cooraclare) & Eimear O’Connor (Coolmeen) Eimear
Considine (Kilmihil) Shonagh Enright (Banner) Niamh O’Dea (Banner)
Naomi Carroll (Banner) Megan Haugh (Banner) Sinead Maloney (Coolmeen)
Subs used Clodagh McNeillis (Fergus Rovers) for Megan Haugh


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs