2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Claremorris advance to All-Ireland Junior final thanks to goal blitz

currentaccount.ie All-Ireland Junior Club Championship semi-final

Claremorris (Mayo) 5-4

Lavey (Derry) 2-11


A late comeback from Lavey wasn’t enough to stop a goal-hungry Claremorris team from reaching their first ever currentaccount.ie All-Ireland Junior Club Championship final.

Despite going seven points behind at one stage, the Ulster champions narrowed the gap to a goal at a time in a second half of this semi-final where they were more dominant at Canon Gibbons Park Claremorris.

But it was a good start from Claremorris that proved crucial as they struck for 2-2 inside the opening five minutes with Nina Wallace scoring both goals after being set up each time by Rebecca Kean.

The Mayo girls had countless more chances as Lavey struggled to cope with their pacy attacking play.

The Derry side managed six points through Carla Collins (two frees), Sinead McGill, Maria Rafferty and Aoife Shaw (two frees) before Claremorris captain Laura Kelly buried the ball in the roof of the net in the 25th minute.

Leading 3-4 to 0-6 at half-time, Claremorris looked comfortable.

However, two quick goals from Lavey had Aidan Brennan’s charges on the ropes in a third quarter that produced four goals.

The first came when corner-forward Aoife Shaw saw a point attempt curl over the head of Claire Keane and into the back of the Claremorris net.

A very similar one came four minutes later when Carla Collins went for a point which was parried down by Keane before being nestled home from point blank by Noeleen McBride.

The Derry girls were now level, but not for long.

Within two minutes, Mayo minor Bree Hession crashed a goal in off the upright to put Claremorris three ahead.

The visitors almost levelled again, but Sinéad McGill’s fisted goal was ruled out for a square ball a minute later.

Claremorris added yet another goal when teenage corner-forward Ashleagh Sammon sent a sublime chip over Niamh’s McKenna’s head in the 42nd minute.

It proved to be Claremorris’ last score of the game as Lavey fought back to narrow the gap to two points.

However, points from Carla Collins (three frees), and an effort from Aoife Shaw weren’t enough to overturn a Claremorris team that had lost Alana Fitzpatrick to a yellow card.

Claremorris face O’Donovan Rossa from Skibbereen in the currentaccount.ie All-Ireland Junior Club Championship final on December 17.


Scorers – Claremorris: N Wallace 2-0, B Hession 1-2, A Sammon 1-0, L Kelly 1-0, R Kean 0-2 (1 free)

Lavey: A Shaw 1-3 (2 frees), C Collin 0-5 (5 frees), N McBride 1-0, S McGill, M Rafferty, C Toher (1 free) 0-1 each.


CLAREMORRIS: C Keane; S Dee, E Maguire, Aisling Cummins; Amy Cummins, S McNulty, S Hughes; A Fitzpatrick, J Regan; M Cawley, R Kean, B Hession; A Sammon, N Wallace, L Kelly (capt.). Subs: S Kelly for Wallace (49), K O’Brien for Amy Cummins (51), D Horkan for Sammon (57), I Phillips for Regan (57)

Erin’s Own Lavey: N McKenna; C Diamond, L Scullion, M Mullholland; A Mullholland, A Rafferty, C Lynn; S McGill (0-1), M Rafferty (0-1); E Toner, S Rafferty, C Toner (0-1); A Shaw (1-3, 2f), C Collins (0-5, 5f), N McBride (1-0)

Subs: B Kelly for Diamond (18), E Murphy for E Toner (50)

Referee:  Paul McCaughey (Westmeath)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs