Coláiste Íosagáin Irresistible as they claim TESCO Junior A All Ireland Crown

Coláiste Íosagáin S.S. Stillorgan v Loreto Omagh - TESCO All Ireland PPS Junior A Final


Coláiste Íosagáin were irresistible as they stormed to a resounding TESCO Post Primary Schools All Ireland Junior A title sweeping away the challenge of Loreto Omagh. The damage was done in the first half as 2 goals from Niamh Ní Shíocháin set the Dublin school on their way with a further two second half goals from Grace Ní Shē ensured it would be a comfortable win. The roots of this victory were sewn in midfield where the dominance of Hannah Ní Dheá and Player of the Match, Michelle Ní Chiardha ensured the possession for their pacey inside forwards.

A big wind favoured Íosagáin in the first half and they certainly made use of it with Niamh Ní Shíocháin proving to be a perfect target on the edge of the square as she dominated the scoring zone. The first major contribution to the scoreboard was made by Ní Shíocháin who  controlled a loose ball on the ground with her feet before taking dribbling the ball around the keeper and rolling it into the net. This score set the tone for the rest of the match as Íosagáin would go on to dominate. However, things could have been different had Ciarrai McCann’s goal bound effort not have been brilliantly saved by Orla Ní Dhuill. Points from Sinead Ní Bhuilde and Michelle Ní Chairdha pushed Íosagáin 1:04 to 0:02 clear with Omagh’s scores both coming from Sasha Byrne. However, when Ní Shíocháin soared above the Loreto defence to field the ball and drive it to the Omagh net it left the Tyrone school with a mountain to climb. Ní Shíocháin and Player of the Match Micheel Ní Chiardha both pointed to leave Íosagáin with a commanding 2:09 to 0:02 lead at half time.

Loreto Omagh would have hoped to make use of the strong wind at their backs in the second half but it was the Dublin school that got the better start especially when Grace Ní Dheá squeezed the ball into the Loreto net after seeing her earlier effort cannon back off the crossbar. It was one way traffic from here as Hannah Ní Dheá and Michelle Ní Chiardha dominated the middle of the field starving the Loreto Omagh forwards of possession. Omagh could have had a goal as Sasha Byrne hit the crossbar but Íosagáin broke straight up the field and Grace Ní Shē netted the score that ended the Omagh resistance. Laura Ní Chatháin put the icing on the cake for Coláiste Íosagáin as she scored their last goal that saw the Dublin school win on a scoreline of 5-15 to 0-04.

It was a tough day for Loreto Omagh who had no luck whatsoever throughout culminating in a missed penalty. Roisín Devlin was outstanding in defeat for Loreto as she refused to give up and Sasha Byrne also lead by example as she accounted for all of her sides scores. There were stars throughout the field for Íosagáin with Billie-Kate Huggard leading a magnificent defensive effort, the defences job was made all the easier by a dominant midfield parternship of Hannah Ní Dheá and Michelle Ní Chiardha whist all 6 forwards played their part with Grace Ní Shē throughout and Niamh Ní Shíocháin doing the damage in the first half.

Coláiste Íosagáin

O Ní Dhúill, R Ní Nualláin, E Ní Eachthigheirn, E Nic Gearailt, N Ní Cholpa, B-K. Huggard, K Ní Fhearáin, H Ní Dheá (0-01), M Ní Chiardha(0-03), L Ní Chatháin (1-00), S De Bhuilde (0-04, 4 frees), L Huggard, N Ní Chiardha (0-03) N Ní Shíocháin (2-02), G Ní Shē (2-02)

Substitutes: G Ní Dhrisceoil for Ní Chiardha, S Nic Dhonnchu for Ní Chatháin, E Ní Chianáin for Ní Eachthigheirn.

Loreto Omagh

  1. Devine, C. Colton, A McConnell, N McConnell, E McMenamin, C Conway, J. Quinn, L Hollywood, A McHugh, R Devlin, S Byrne (0-04, 1 free), C Comer, C McCann, C Kelly, G McGarrity.

Substitutes: A Byrne for Colton, M MacRory for McCann, C Maguire for McConnell, A McGarvey for McGarritty

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs