Connacht Ladies Club League Final

The Connacht League Final was contested by Kilmovee Shamrocks (Mayo) and St. Nathys (Sligo). Throw in was 7.30p/m in Fr. O’Hara Park Charlestown.

Both teams have proved themselves worthy of this title by getting to the final and from the start of the game it was evident it was going to be a good battle. Within a minute of the of the starting whistle Karen Lilly opened the scoring for St. Nathys with a point. Very quickly Kilmovee found their form and with a series of points St. Nathys were on the back foot. A great run of passes from Ailish Leonard, to Noelle Gormley and offloaded to Sandra Scully sent the ball to the back of the net for the first goal of the game and St. Nathys were closing the gap. It was then to get worse for the Sligo girls when Kilmovee were awarded a questionable penalty, on this occasion it proved to tough to stop for the Nathys keeper Katrina Connolly. St. Nathys fought back but had several shots on goal saved by the Kilmovee keeper and from this the Mayo girls dominated and finished the first half ahead, with a score line of 2.9 to St. Nathys 1.4.

St. Nathys were first from the dressing room, the ball was thrown up, won by the Sligo girls and the battle had begun again. St. Nathys emerged a fighting side in the second half and screamed this with a powerful goal from Karen Lilly inside the first few minutes. This narrowed the margin and the game was on. Kilmovee battled ahead again with some long range points but St. Nathys pilled on the pressure and with 2 goals from the boot of Sandra Scully and one from Noelle Gormley the gap was closing fast. St. Nathys used 1 sub through out the game and this was mid way through the second half when Karena Quinn the corner full back was substituted for Aine Brennan. The final whistle was approaching fast and Nathys were still behind by 2 points. At this point the spectators were shouting each of there teams on and it was anybody’s game. The St. Nathys goal keeper kept a clean sheet for the second half but it was the Kilmovee points that added up and gave them the Connacht League Title by 2 points. The final score was St. Nathys 5.7 to Kilmovee 2.18. The St. Nathys girls were disheartened with the defeat but it just wasn’t their day.

The teams lined out as follows:

St. Nathys: Katrina Connolly, Karena Quinn, Carmel kennedy, Aileen Connolly, Claire Rooney, Angela Doohan, Aileen Hannon, Aine Gormley, Ann-Marie Coleman, Noelle Gormley(1.4), Aisling Leonard, Sandra Scully(3.2), Karen Lilly(1.1).

Subs: Aine Brennan, Valeda Scanlon, Aileen Gorman, Niamh Gorman, Jacqueline Barrett, Eleanor Kennedy, Anita Toolan, Etna O’Flaherty, Una Cafferkey, Kelly ann Gallagher, Michelle Scully & Yvonne McGowan. Management, Liam McDonagh, & Paddy Coleman.

Kilmovee Shamrocks: Phil Tansey, michelle Kelly, Clare Duffy, Rebecca Towey, Sharron Lynskey, Mary Horan, Caroline Gorman, Deirdre Gordon, Sinead Cafferky, Emer Tansey, Angela Gordon, Lisa Cafferky, Clodagh Martin.

Subs: Lorraine Kelly, Elaine Duffy, Aisling Egan, Leanne Foley, Louise Callaghan, Emer Grehan, Sharon Towy, Saoirse Cunniffe, Lorraine Egan, Alice Rooney. Management: Liam Costigan, Barry McGuire, Frank Kelly, Ann Phillis.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs