Controversial penalty propels Mayo to All-Ireland final


Controversial penalty brings Mayo to All-Ireland Final


By Daragh Ó Conchúir

Mayo 2-13 Tyrone 2-8

A highly controversial penalty goal by Cora Staunton propelled
Mayo to their first TG4 All-Ireland SFC final since their 2003
victory over Dublin. Diane O’Hora was the hero on that occasion
with a goal in the final minute and made a critical contribution
again on this occasion, coming on as a half time substitute and
goaling within 40 seconds of the restart. Tyrone will be very
disappointed with the penalty incident however as referee Tony
Clarke clearly made an incorrect decision in awarding the spot
kick five minutes before half time. Staunton’s shot went straight
at Elaine Mallaghan but the Carnacon attacker was the quickest
to react to send the rebound to the net. Mallaghan was then sin-binned
by Clarke after an altercation with Staunton, the Tyrone custodian
reacting to apparently being goaded by the Mayo star. Jimmy McCloughan’s
charges made little of being reduced to 14 players by upping the
tempo and scoring two points to restore parity at the break on
1-5 apiece.

Indeed they provided the league champions with an incredibly tough
examination throughout having been written off in many quarters
as no-hopers beforehand. Jolene Donnelly got them in front early
on but points from Staunton, Fiona McHale and Aoife Herbert seemed
to settle Mayo. Tyrone were in front within four minutes however,
Eilish Gormley’s pointed free being followed up quickly by a Cathy
Donnelly rasper to the roof of the Mayo net, with Gemma Begley
the supplier.

The penalty goal restored Mayo’s advantage but two points from
Begley, the second a stupendous effort with the left boot after
initially winning possession out on the sideline, had the sides
level at half time. O’Hora struck immediately after the resumption
when fed by Noelle Tierney but undeterred Tyrone drove forward
in waves. The Red Hand outfit, with Gormley and captain Ann Dooher
very prominent, completely dominated the third quarter but were
unable to capitalise in scoring terms. At the other end, Staunton
was typically unerring from frees and play, rifling over five
points to finish with a tally of 1-8 and yet another Player of
the Match award. Begley thundered a late penalty beyond Yvonne
Byrne in the most emphatic of fashions to give the scoreboard
a fairer reflection but with only 50 seconds remaining, it arrived
much too late to trouble Mayo, who will now play three-in-a-row
chasing Cork in the final in three weeks.

Tyrone: G Begley 1-4 (1-0 pen, 0-2fs); C Donnelly 1-0; J Donnelly
0-2; E Gormley (f), L Donnelly 0-1 each. Mayo: Y Byrne; S McGing,
H Lohan, N O’Shea; C O’Hara, M Carter, C McGing; C Egan, C McDermott;
C Heffernan 0-1, C Staunton 1-8 (1-0 pen, 0-5fs), F McHale 0-2;
L Cafferkey, N Tierney, A Herbert 0-1. Sub: D O’Hora 1-1 for Cafferkey
(31); M Heffernan for McGing (43); M Kelly for Tierney (60).

Tyrone: E Mallaghan; S McLaughlin, M Kelly, C McGlinchey; S McGarvey,
L Donnelly 0-1, K Meehan; L Meehan, S Donnelly; A Dooher, E Gormley
0-1(f), K Murphy; J Donnelly 0-2, G Begley 1-4 (1-0 pen, 0-2fs),
C Donnelly 1-0. Sub: S McCarney for Donnelly (26); J Donnelly
for McCarney (37); K Daly for K Meehan (48); O O’Neill for S Donnelly

Referee: T Clarke (Dublin).


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs