2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Cork 2-12 Mayo 1-11

Cork 2-12

Mayo 1-11


REIGNING champions Cork remain on course to retain
their title after an impressive TG4 All-Ireland ladies SFC quarter-final
victory over Mayo in O’Moore Park on Saturday. 

The Rebels remain unbeaten in a competitive match since losing
a league game early last year. They have not lost a single competitive
game in 2006 and remain strong favourites to win back to back


But they did have to overturn a two point half time deficit on
Saturday to advance to the last four of the championship.


Mayo started the game brightly and raced into a 1-4 to 0-2 lead
after 18 minutes. The goal came from Triona McNicholas in the
fourth minute while Cora Staunton fired over all four points.


Player of the match Valerie Mulcahy responded with a Cork goal
eight minutes from the interval and at the break Mayo led 1-6
to 1-4.


However, within three minutes of the resumption Mayo were reduced
to 14 players when Martha Carter was sin binned.


Mayo were a point ahead at that stage but by the time she returned
Cork had raced six clear – thanks largely to a well taken
goal from Deirdre O’Reilly after Mulcahy picked her out with
a great pass.


Inspired by Staunton, Mayo came back to within three points with
eight minutes remaining.


However, they lost all their momentum when Staunton was sin binned.
Cork were able to pull away again though they did finish the game
with 13 players after Angela Walsh and Rena Buckley were also
sin binned.


They will face the winners of next Saturday’s quarter-final
clash between Laois and Monaghan in the last four.


CORK: E Harte, R Buckley, A Walsh, L Power, G Flynn, B Stack,
S O’Reilly, J Murphy (0-3), N Kelly, N Cleary (0-3), D O’Reilly
(1-0), A Murphy, V Mulcahy (1-3), M O’Connor (0-3), C Creedon.
Subs: B Corkery for L Power (22min), M Kelly for A Murphy (44min),
C Walsh for C Creedon (54min)


MAYO: D Devine, S McGing, H Lohan, C McGing, C O’Hara, N
O’Shea, K Colleran, C Egan, J Moran, E Mullin (0-2), C Heffernan,
M Heffernan, C McDermott, C Staunton (0-7), T McNicholas (1-1).
Subs: M Carter (0-1) for J Moran (29min), F McHale for K Colleran
(29min), A Loftus for M Heffernan (38min), D O’Hora for F
McHale (54min)




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs