Cork B Cruise to victory over Mayo B

Cork B turn in an excellent performance against

Suzuki Ladies National Fooball B League Quarter
Final Cork 3.17 Mayo B 1.03 

A serious injury to Carrigaline & St Finbarr’s player Linda
O’Connell took the gloss off an excellent win by Cork in the quarter
final of the Suzuki B League played at Roslevin, Tulla Co Clare
on Sunday. The Cork player was injured on the 56th minute when
contesting a ball with Mayo centre back Joanne McDonagh and had
to be removed by ambulance to Ennis General Hospital.

The Rebel’s, inactive match wise since February 26th, were rarely
troubled by the Mayo girls. From the moment Linda O’Connell of
Donoughmore planted the ball in the Mayo net on the 4th minute
the writing was on the wall. Niamh Hickey was benefiting at full
forward from the excellent supply of ball via the midfield partnership
of Annie Walsh and Emer O’Connell as well as the unselfish amount
of work generated by Catriona O’Connell, AM Walsh & Jean Lucey.
At the half time whistle the Cork girls led 2.11 to 1.03 the Mayo
goal coming courtesy of corner forward Louise Mulligan. Cork kept
the pressure on in the 2nd half the highlight being a superb Niamh
Hickey goal to seal the Cork win.

Mayo did offer more resistance winning a penalty on the 55th
minute but Cork keeper Orla Murphy produced an excellent double
save from Sinead Fadden. It was in the next passage of play that
the injury happened and the referee blew for full time. Cork now
progress to a semi final meeting with Monaghan B on next Sunday
at a venue to be decided. The Cork management and panel send our
best wishes to Linda O’Connell and wish her a speedy recovery.

Cork: O Murphy S Buckley J Hennessy B Forde F Crowley T Galvin
B Wiseman A Walsh (0.03)E O’Connell AM Walsh (0.02) L O’Connell
(1.02) J Lucey (0.01) C O’Connell (1.02) N Hickey (1.05) E O’Donoghue
(Cpt 0.02 f) Subs: L O’Connell for B Wiseman (44) C O’Driscoll
for C O’Connell (50th) N Barry for B Forde C Conway for E O’Donoghue
C Moloney for AM Walsh (all 51st)

Mayo: S Kenny M McGrath E Duffy C Hennigan D Gordon S Colleran
L Forde C Martin J McDonagh L Gavigan S Fadden (0.03f) M Hennigan
L Mulligan (1.00) C Cooke L Doocey

Referee: R O’Connor ( Tipperary)

Terry O’Brien Cork Ladies Football


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs