2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Cork B get back on track

Suzuki Ladies National Football league
Cork B Back on Track
Cork B 6-14 Tipperary 1-8

After losing their first 3 games in the Suzuki Ladies National
League Division 2 campaign, Cork got back on track with
an emphatic victory over Tipperary in cold but ideal conditions
at Donoughmore on Sunday.

The game was close enough in the opening quarter with little
separating the sides. Then a three goal scoring burst before
half-time, gave the Cork girls, a solid lead of 3-5 to 0-5
at the short whistle. Gelling much better than they had
in previous games, Cork played fast open football in the
2nd half, with an avalanche of scores, coming with regular

Despite a flurry from Tipperary in the final quarter, when
their best forward Denise Fitzgerald scored a goal and a
brace of points, which served to put a better gloss on the
scoreboard from their own point of view, Cork were never
threatned. Cork mentors made a number of positional changes
from previous line outs and they had the desired effect,
the defence, which had been very shaky, was rock solid Mairead
O’Sullivan was brilliant in goals. Siobhan Buckley and Elaine
Cotter moved from centre back and centre field, with Norma
Kelly, were a tower of strength, hard tackling Rosie Cogan
was superb in the half line where Aisling Barrett and Sheila
O’Callaghan did excellent work as well. Sinead O’Reilly
and Eimear O’Connell dominated midfield and the forwards
did the rest.

In all eight names appeared on the score sheet, again a
marked improvement on previous outings. This upsurge in
form may have come too late for Cork to reach the play off
stages, but they have enhanced their chances of staying
in Division 2 and of course, it will be a major boost for
the Junior Championship.

Cork Scorers. Laura Harrington 2-1 Deirdre O’Sullivan
2-1 Mairead Kelly 0-4 Eimear O’Connell 1-1 Niamh Hickey
0-3 Nollaig Cleary 1-0 Mary White 0-3 Eleanor Twohig 0-1

Tipperary. Denise Fitzgerald 1-3, Edel Manley o-2
Mairead Morrissey 0-1 Fina Loughnane 0-1 Siobhan Costello

Cork Mairead O’Sullivan, Norma Kelly, Siobhan Buckley,
Elaine Cotter, Rose Cogan Aisling Barrett, Sheila O’Callaghan,
Sinead O’Reilly, Eimear O’Connell, Deirdre O’Sullivan, Mairead
Kelly, Laura Harrington, Nollaig Cleary, Niamh Hickey, Mary
White, Triona Lucey, Laura O’Mahony, Ciara O’Sullivan, Annie
Walsh Anne Marie Walsh, Sarah O’Connell, Cloldagh O’Driscoll,
Eleanor Twohig, Grace O’Sullivan.

Helen Kennedy, Carmel Condon, Libby Grogan,
Mairead Crowe, Claire Lambert, Maeve Corcoran, Claire Peters,
Angie McDermott, Fina Loughnane, Patrice Ryan Mairead Morrissey,
Elaine Tobin, Siobhan Costello, Denise Fitzgerald, Edel

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs