Cork beat Laois in Minor All-Ireland


CORK 4-17 LAOIS 0-8

In contrast to the minor men last week, the ladies went straight
to the top on Saturday to declare All-Ireland victory. In
an emphatic display of football the Rebel ladies outclassed
Laois and were unquestionably worthy winners. A goal from
Rockbán’s Síle Burns and points from Marie O’Neill, Geraldine
O’Flynn and Amanda Murphy, ensured Cork were ahead 1-10 0-4
at halftime.

In the second half Cork upped the tempo and goals from player
of the match Marie O’Neill, Laura O’Mahony and Amanda Murphy
made certain it was Cork who lifted the cup. Defensively Cork
worked superbly as a unit working the ball well out of defence,
with the half back line supplying plenty of ball into the

Cork captain Briege Corkery
celebrates with her team mate having won the minor All-Ireland
Junior stars Ciara Walsh and Elaine O’Riordan
relished in their roles in the backline and as always Claire
O’Donoughue was comfortable between the posts. “The girls
played with great understanding and cohesion that it was a
delight to watch”, said Manager Fr Liam Kelleher. “We never
lost focus and kept the momentum going throughout”. Kelleher
is quick to point out the work rate of his players, “Sixteen
of the players today started out with me in 2000 and since
then have won U14, U16 and Minor All-Ireland titles. “This
is a great achievement for the players and the management
involved. We are so proud of them all”.
Cork captain Briege Corkery
recieving the All-Ireland trophy from President of the Ladies
Football Association Geraldine Giles.

With four U14 All-Irelands, 2 U16 and 2 Minor titles under
his belt he’s a happy man. “I have worked with international,
Olympic and World champion athletes and I can honestly say
these girls are the finest bunch I’ve ever come across. All
of them have huge character and great respect for the game”.
On Saturday the juniors take on Tipperary in the Munster Championship
in Donoughmore and on Sunday the seniors play Clare in Doonbeg.

Cork’s Marie O’Neill recieving
the Player of the Match award from ladies football president
Geraldine Giles
CORK: C O’Donoughue, C Walsh, B Stack,
E O’Riordan, N Keohane, L Power, R Buckley, N Kelly, G O’Flynn,
A Murphy, M O’Neill, B Corkery (C), K Foley, S Burns, T Galvin.

Subs: A O’Sullivan for T Galvin, A Dempsey for C Walsh,
C O’Connell for A Murphy, L Power for N Kelly (inj), N Canty
for R Buckley.
Scorers for Cork: M O’Neill 1-4, S Burns and A Murphy
1-2 each, L O’Mahony 1-1, G O’Flynn 0-5 (0-4 frees), T Galvin,
B Corkery and R Buckley 0-1 each.
Player of the Match: Marie O’Neill (Watergrasshill)

By Mary White (PRO, Cork Ladies Football) 086-3398780

Members of the Beara football
club who played for Cork in the Minor All-Ireland final
on Saturday (L-R: Amanda Murphy, Laura Power, Claire O’Donoughue
and Aine O’Sullivan.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs