Cork Complete Under 14 3-in-a-Row


Cork 3-15 Kildare 1-6


Cork’s U14s claimed their third successive U14 All Ireland Championship with a well deserved victory over a gallant Kildare side in Templemore on Sat 22nd of June. In a competitive contest throughout it took the young Rebels until the final quarter to kill off the Kildare challenge with a powerful finish as they outscored their opponents 3-4 to 0-2 to seal victory.


Points from Saoirse Noonan and Erin McEveney got Cork of to an early lead but the Kildare girls settled to their task and enjoying their best period of the game took the game to Cork levelling matters by the end of the first quarter with points from Roisin Forde and Kayleigh Humphries.


As the half progressed Corks’ half backline and midfield began to gain the ascendency as points from Grace Culloty and Chloe Cottrell edged them back in front. Kildare continued to press but were finding scores difficult to come by against a resolute Cork defence.  Three further points from the impressive Saoirse Noonan and another from Captain Grace Culloty extended Cork’s lead to six points with half time approaching. Kildare full forward Roisin Forde struck for the only goal of the first half when she pounced on a breaking ball to give Cork keeper Georgina Gould no chance from close range. As had been the hallmark of the Cork U14 side throughout 2013 they once again responded well when the need was greatest with corner forward Sadbh O’ Leary pointing to give Cork a 0-9 to 1-2 half time lead.


The opening exchanges in the second half were even with both teams battling to gain the initiative. Points from Saoirse Noonan and Erin McEveney were answered by Kildare points from Aine Nash and Ellie Ó Toole as the contest hung in the balance at the end of the 3rd quarter.


A Sadbh O’ Leary goal extended Cork’s lead as the game entered the all important final quarter but a defiant Kildare responded with a point from Kayleigh Humphries. A pointed free from Captain Grace Culloty kept the scoreboard ticking over for the Rebels with the finishing line in sight.


The strength of the Cork bench came to the fore in the final ten minutes as the introduction of fresh legs yielded vital scores to swing the contest in Cork’s favour. Chloe Collins came in for Player of the Match Kate Hannon who had worked tirelessly all day while Christine Moran who was introduced for Chloe Cottrell made an immediate impact scoring a fine point to extend Cork’s lead. Grace Culloty added another point before super-sub Nicole Quinn who had been introduced for Erin McEveney struck 2-1 in the last five minutes to  seal victory for the Rebels. Rachel Whelton was introduced for Mary Leneghan as before Kildare’s Kate Hannon scored the final point of the day.


On the day the strength of Cork’s panel and their ability to get vital scores at crucial times was decisive against a Kildare team who gave it their all in their first All Ireland Final in the highest grade.



G. Gould (Kinsale), E. McAndrew (Douglas), S. Hurley (Bandon), M. Leneghan (St. Michaels), C. McCarthy (St. Vals), C. Ryan (Clonakilty), C. Hughes (St. Vals), J. B. Dinan (Donoughmore), C. Cottrell (Newmarket), K. Hannon (Glanmire) I. O’ Regan (Nemo Rangers), G. Culloty Capt. (Bride Rovers), E. McEveney (Passage West), S. Noonan (Nemo Rangers), S. Ó Leary (Kinsale), A. Twohig (Mourneabbey), N. Quinn (Bandon), C. Moran (Aghada), A. Ó Rourke (Donoughmore), C. Collins (Dromtarriffe), G. Cahalane (Eire Óg), E. Downey (Douglas), M. Ó Leary (Éire Óg), F. Cahill (Cloyne), C. Ó Keeffe (Dromtarriffe), R. Whelton (Clann Na Gael), E. Creedon (Naomh Fionnbarra), C. Ó Shea (Beara), C. Brennan (Carrigtwohill), G. Collins (Éire Óg). Development Panel – S. Byrne (St. Vals), E. Barry (Bride Rovers), E. Cleary (Éire Óg), K. Kelly (Beara), S. Leahy (Aghada), A. McGrath (Aghada), A. Murphy (Glanmire), R. Murphy (Bantry), A. Ó Callaghan (Mourneabbey), M. Smith (Glanmire), E. Twomey (Nemo Rangers)


Management – M. Crowley, C. McLoughlin, J. Fitzgerald, A. McCarthy




N. Doran (Kildangan/Nurney), B. Doyle (Ballymore), C. Melia (Monasterevin), M. Ó Brien, D. Maginn (Rathcoffey), A. Horan (Ballymore), A. McLoughlin (Ballykelly), K. Merrick (Maynooth), E. Ó Toole (Kilcullen), K. Humphries (Athgarvan), A. Nash (Monasterevin), N. Dooley (Suncroft), C. Pedley (Moorefield), R. Forde (Maynooth), K. Hannon (Moorefield), G. Kelly (Naas), C. Boland (Milltown), K. Coffey (Naas), A. Stapleton (Monasterevin), A. Walsh (Maynooth), E. MacCourt (Maynooth), N. Murphy (Kilcullen), S. Jennings (Raheens), A. Roche (Kill), N. Dooley (Castledermot), R. McCannon (Robert Emmetts), J. Marron (Monasterevin)


Management – M. Horan, R. Monahan, P. Dooley

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs