Cork Dominate 30th Ladies Football All Stars Awards

Cork Dominate 30th Ladies Football All Stars Awards

2009 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Football All Star Awards

All Ireland winners Cork continued their dominance of Ladies Gaelic Football by picking up six All Stars at the 2009 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All-Star Awards at the CityWest Hotel tonight.
Five-in-a-row champs Cork and losing finalists Dublin dominated the nominations for this year’s All-Stars with 21 nominations between the two counties but it was the Rebelettes who collected the most All Stars on the night.

Cork players Geraldine O’Flynn, Briege Corkery, Norita Kelly, Juliet Murphy, Nollaig Cleary and Angela Walsh all collected All Star Awards on the night with Walsh picking up her fifth consecutive All Star award.
Dublin collected three All Stars in the form of Cliodhna O’Connor, Siobhan McGrath and Sinead Aherne while Mayo also picked up three All Star awards with Noelle Tierney, Martha Carter and the legendary Cora Staunton all collecting gongs on the night.


Other notable All Stars included Kildare’s Noelle Earley who followed in her father Dermot and her brother Dermot’s footsteps by becoming an All Star and Monaghan forward Ciara McAnespie who collected her first All Star 12 years after her mother Brenda won an All Star for the Farney women.


Monaghan won two All stars on the night with Edel Byrne of the Magheraclone club collecting her fifth All Star

Mary Davis, Managing Director of Special Olympics Europe/Eurasia, was the guest of honour at the prestigious event which was filmed live for deferred airing on TG4. Entertainment was provided on the night by Rebecca Storm, Tommy Flemming and Sharon Shannon while Marty Morrissey and Daithi O’Se orchestrated proceedings.
The Young Players of the Year Awards went to Aileen Gilroy (St Brigids, Mayo – CONNACHT), Cliona Murray (Boardsmill, Meath – LEINSTER), Niamh O’Dea (The Banner Ladies, Clare – MUNSTER) and Niamh McLoughlin (Moyville, Donegal – ULSTER).

The induction of Sally Duggan into the Ladies Football Hall of Fame also took place on the night. The Premier County native was present at the inception of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association in the Hayes Hotel, Thurles in 1974. Sally had a glittering inter-county career winning three All Ireland medals as well as a National League and four Provincial titles.

In 1998, Sally and her sister Ann reformed the Moycarkey Borris club which had been disbanded in 1985 and led the club to success in the Junior A Championship. Mary has fulfilled many administrative roles at both Club and County level and is a worthy recipient of the Hall of Fame Award.

Pat Quill, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, said “The All Star Awards showcase the talents of players who excelled on the field and who illustrated the ethos of Ladies Football over the course of the season. All of our winners tonight are worthy of our admiration as sportswomen, as individuals and as ambassadors for Ladies Football.”

Pól O’Gallchóir, Ceannasaí TG4, said, “On a night when we gather to celebrate another great year in Ladies Gaelic Football, we honour in particular, of course, the 45 players from all over Ireland who have been nominated for the 2009 All Stars. This is a special occasion for them and for their families and friends. But we also remember those great players who added to our enjoyment of this great sport during the season but who did not receive a nomination this time. Their contribution too is honoured and valued.”

Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin), Noelle Tierney (Mayo), Angela Walsh (Cork), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork) , Briege Corkey (Cork), Martha Carter (Mayo), Siobháin McGrath (Dublin), Juliet Murphy (Cork), Norita Kelly (Cork), Nollaig Cleary (Cork), Edel Byrne (Monaghan), Noelle Earley (Kildare), Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Sineád Aherne (Dublin), Cora Staunton (Mayo).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs