Cork Double in all-Ireland Club Quarter finals

Cork Ladies Football.
Cork Double in all-Ireland Club Quarter finals. By Fr. Liam

Cork clubs Gabriel Rangers (Junior) and Naomh Abán (Intermediate)
scored wins in the All-Ireland Club quarter finals, on Sunday.
Both victories were fashioned in totally contrasting ways.
Gabriels playing at Castlehaven had a very comprehensive
win while Naomh Abán triumphed by a point up in Derry. This
sets up both clubs up for the All-Ireland Semi-finals on
Sunday next. Naomh Abán are at home in Balyvourney to the
Connaught Champions Kilmoyvee of Mayo, while Gabriel Rangers
travel to Dunmore, in Galway for the Junior Semi-Final Intermediate.
Naomh Abán 1-8 Glen (Derry) 0-10 In a tough encounter where
the Naomh Abán girls, had to display tremendous courage
and resolve, before they snatched a very late and dramatic
win over Ulster champions Glen.

It took an injury time penalty from Katie Lynch to win this
thrilling tie, for the West Cork girls. Playing with the
wind in the opening period the Cork girls were slow to settle
they lost influential midfielder Emer O’Connell through
injury and trailed by a point at that interval 5-4. After
playing with a strong wind in that opening period things
looked bad for them. But they are resolute fighters and
they clawed their way back into the game , Miss O’Connell
returned to play a vital role and with Katie Lynch and Caoimhe
Creedon and Alva Lynch tagging on points, there were still
2 points in it, deep into injury time. In a last desperate
effort throwing everything into attack, full back Fiona
O’Sullivan was hauled down in the square and young Katie
Lynch cooly slotted the ball, to the net, for a famous win.

Naomh Abán should have a huge following at home in Balyvourney
on Sunday when they take on Connaught champions from Mayo

Naomh Abán:
Ciara Ni Liathain, Cait Ni Concubhair, Fiona
Ní Suilleabhain, Niamh Ní Scannell, Siobhan Ní Mhurchu,
Siobhán Ní Buacala, Capt, Maire Ní Corcora, Eimear Ní Conaill.
Lisa Ní Suibhne, Cait Ní Loinsig, Anita MacTomás, Caroline
Ní Cartaigh, Caoimhe Ní Chriodaín. Alva Ní Loinsig. Brid
Ní Concubhair, Noelle Ní Corcora, Cliodhna Ní Scannaill,
Maire Ní Cartaigh, Maire Ní Corcora, Sile Ní Ceallaigh,
Grainne Ní Luasa Maura Ní Riordain, Joanne Ní Cartaigh,
Caroline De Barra, Isla Ní Suibhne.

Naomh Abán Katie Lynch 1-4. Caoimhe Creedon 0-3, Alva Lynch
Glen. Michelle McAteer 0-3 Ursula Mullin 0-2, Marie McAlary
0-2 Dervla Mc Masters 0-1 Mary Jo Walls 0-1

Easy for Gabriels
Gabriel Rangers 6-13 Moneyglass(Antrim) 3-5

Like in all their games since crowned Co Junior Champions
for the first time, Gabriel Rangers have totted up huge
scores in their bid to achieve ultimate honours. Playing
at Castlehaven on Sunday they were never in danger and ran
out convincing winners. Again their scorer in chief was
Nollaig Cleary who notched 4-2. Ace free taker Claire O’Brien
rowed in with 1-5 Deirdre Cotter 1-3 Elaine Cotter 0-2 and
Eimear Cleary 0-1.

Moneyglass scorers. Kelly McCoy 1-2. Mary McCann
1-1 Emer Brady 1-0 Geraldine McCann 0-1 Aine McElroy 0-1
Gabriel Rangers. Gretta Burchill, Christine Deasy,
Ellan Regan, Sinead O’Driscoll, Mary Kelleher, Ann Reagan
capt, Siobán Dineen, Deirdre Ward, Elaine Cotter, Deirdre
Cotter, Claire O’Brien Clodagh 0’Driscoll, Claire Daly,
Nollaig Cleary Emer Cleary. Anita Johnson, Aoife Coughlan,
Maeve Westwood, Verona O’Driscoll, Denise Hayes, Anna Ward,
Maria O’Regan, catherine Moynihan, Anita Hurley, Kate Crowley,
Hazel Byrne.

Three Cork teams in action
Cork’s 3 Munster Club Champions will be in a action on Sunday,
in All-Ireland semi-finals. Naomh Abán at home Gabriel Rangers
away and Donoughmore will be at home to reigning club champions
Carnacon of Mayo. What a game this promises to be, with
Carnacon who defeated Donoughmore in last years semi-Final
coming to Cork. They have 9 of the Mayo Senior panel and
will take on a Donoughmore side full of confidence following
their impressive Co and Munster campaigns. The game could
see a record crowd gathered at Lackabawn on Sunday at 2pm.
Donoughmore with home advantage will be fancied and they
have worked hard to try and regain the title they won for
the first time 2 years ago.

Co Premier under 16 final.
Mournebbey take another title Mourenabbey 1-7 Beara. 0-2
The eagerly awaited Co Premier under 16 final took place
in miserable conditions at Kilmurray on Sunday. Mournabbey
long time victims of Beara’s phenomenal success, have turned
the tide this year and were anxious too add this title to
the title they won at the under 14. Both teams are blessed
with many gifted players, in fact between them they had
19 players have Cork experience, 11 for Beara and 8 for
Mourneabbey. Mourneabbey had the better of the opening half
and went to the dressing room with a comfortable 1-7 to
0-2 lead. Beara are renowned for their never say die spirit.
Mourenabbey with the their big lead, put up the shutters
in the 2nd half in defence and while they did not score
they limited Beara to 2 points and so collected another

Roisin O’Sullivan 0-3 Anna O’Shea 1-0 Siobhan
Forde 0-2, Laura Harrington 0-1. Eimear Harrington 0-1,

Beara: Amanda Murphy 0-2. Miriam Sheehan 0-1. Laura
Power 0-1.

Mourneabby.Marguerite O”Sullivan, Rebecca Larkin,
Leona Behan, Katherine Coakley, Patricia Murphy, Cathy Ann
Stack, Sandra Conroy, Roisin O’Sullivan, Laura Harrington.
Eimear Harrington, Jenny Luddy, Aisling Thompson, Ciara
0’Sullivan, Siobhan Forde, Ann O’Shea,. Paula Stack, Jessica
Kirk, Orla Weir, Fiona O’Connell. Ciara Harrington, Shona
Linehan. Beara. Catriona Murphy, Emma Hanley, Amanda
Goggin, Finnualla Murphy, Ann Daly, Aine O’Suulllivan, Michelle
Goggin, Laura Power, Vicky Power, Sinead O’Dwyer, Catriona
O’Neill, Ciara Murphy, Miriam Sheehan, Amanda Murphy, Emma
Murphy, Linda Murphy, Lorna O’Neill, Eimear O’Dwyer, Kate
Twomey, Jessie Russell.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs