Cork get Division 1 defence off to impressive start with victory over Kerry

Lidl National Football League Division 1

Kerry 0-9
Cork 2-17

From Rory Noonan in Knocknagoshel

CORK got the defence of their Lidl National League Division One title off to a winning start in Knocknagoshel in Kerry yesterday.

From start to finish they led and never really looked like losing.

Cork opened the scoring in the first minute when Aine O’Sullivan pointed with Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh replying from a free for Kerry.

Despite playing against a strong breeze Cork dominated early on and points from Orla Finn and Eimear Scally put then 0-3 to 0-1 up after 13 minutes.

Doireann and Brid O’Sullivan increased their lead, before Sarah Houlihan got Kerry’s second, from  a free with 23 minutes played.

From the re-start they regained possession and it took a great save from Martina O’Brien to deny Brid Ryan a goal, tipping her shot over the bar.

This woke Cork up again, with Scally adding a point from a free and Orla Finn also scoring, with two minutes to half-time.

Andrea Murphy pulled a point back for Kerry on the stroke of half-time, to make it 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Now playing with the wind two points from Finn increased Cork’s lead and when Aine O’Sullivan goaled, in the 33rd minute, it was always going to be tough for Kerry to come back.

Brid O’Sullivan added a point, before Houlihan pointed  two frees for Kerry and with 46 minutes gone it was 1-11 to 0-7.

Scally pointed for Cork, with Ni Mhuircheartaigh and Houlihan replying from frees for Kerry.

Cork finished the game strongly, withy Finn, Doireann O’Sullivan and a goal from Brid O’Sullivan ensuring they were convincing winners in the end.

Scorers for Cork: B O’Sullivan 1-2, A O’Sullivan 1-1, O Finn 0-5, E Scally (1f), D O’Sullivan 0-3 each, L Coppinger 0-2, O Farmer 0-1.

Kerry: S Houlihan 0-5 (4f), L Ni Mhuircheartaigh 0-2  (2f), B Ryan, A Murphy 0-1 each.

CORK: M O’Brien; A Kelleher, M Ambrose, M Duggan; E Spillane, B Casey, S Kelly; M O’Callaghan, A Hutchings; B O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan, O Farmer; A O’Sullivan, E Scally, O Finn.

Subs: E Meaney for B Casey, L Coppinger for A O’Sullivan, A Barrett for A Kelleher, L Cleary for O Farmer.

KERRY: L Fitzgerald; E Lynch, D Kearney, A O’Connell; D Geaney, A Desmond, K O’Sullivan; A Geaney, E O’Leary; F Tagney, A Murphy, E Dineen; S Houlihan, L Ni Mhuircheartaigh, B Ryan.

Subs: C Murphy for A O’Connell, L Coughlan for F Tagney, A Brosnan for E Dineen, A Foley for A Murphy, C O’Connor for D Geaney, B Sears for E Lynch.

Ref: N McCormack, Laois.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs