2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Cork Junior Ladies overcome Galway

Junior Ladies overcome Galway

National League Division B Cork 2.07 Galway 2.00

Cork travelled to Gort on Sunday to play league
leaders Galway and returned down south with a well
deserved win. Both defences were on top early in
the first half making it difficult for forwards
to pick off scores. Indeed it took all of 17 minutes
before the first score came courtesy of Cork captain,
Eva O’Donoghue. Marie O’Neill was giving the Galway
full back, Aisling Egan, a torrid time scoring two
very well taken points. With Annie Walsh dictating
matters in midfield the Cork girls began to get
a grip on the game. Jo Hennessy at full back and
Fiona Crowley at wing back were in very commanding
form repelling any Galway attack. A long ball forward
from centre back AM Walsh found Caitriona O’Connell
at corner forward. A quick transfer to Marie O’Neill
saw her put Eva O’Donoghue through and she gave
the Galway keeper no chance from close range. Two
Annie Walsh points drew the first half to a close
with Cork comfortably in a lead of 1.05 to 0.00

The second half was a minute old when Caitriona
O’Connell put the Cork girls further ahead. Eva
O’Donoghue put the game beyond the reach of the
Galway girls in the 47th minute when she was quickest
to react to a save from the Galway keeper following
a tremendous burst out of defence by Blathnaid Wiseman.
The Cork defence were caught napping badly in the
51st minute when a long ball over the top found
wing forward Brid Connolly and she drove the ball
past Mairead O’Sullivan in the Cork goal. The Cork
girls replied quickly with a point from Triona Lucey
and with the game in its dying moments a free from
Galway centre forward, Barbara Hannon, deceived
goalkeeper Mairead O’Sullivan and ended up in the
back of the net.

Cork: M O’Sullivan S Buckley J Hennessy M
Rea F Crowley AM Walsh B Wiseman Emer O’Connell
A Walsh (0.02) C O’Sullivan T Lucey (0.01) L O’Connell
E O’Donoghue ( Cpt) (2.01) M O’Neill ( 0.02) C O’Connell
Subs: B Forde for M Rea (Inj) L O’Connell for C
O’Connell C O’Driscoll for M O’Neill C O’Mahoney
for S Buckley S O’Brien for B Wiseman

Galway: L Morris M Maloney A Egan D Martyn
C Coleman S Noone A Connaughton E Curley M Brannelly
S Egan B Hannon (1.00 (f) B Connolly (Cpt) (1.00)
N Lahan M Reilly M Wilson
Referee: R O’Connor ( Tipperary)

Terry O’Brien Cork Ladies Football

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs