Cork, Monaghan and Dublin Dominate All Star Nominations

Cork, Monaghan and Dublin Dominate All Star Nominations

O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Football All Star Banquet set for 12th November

The nominations for the O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Football All Stars were announced today in Croke Park and All-Ireland Champions Cork have received eight nominations for their endeavours and in recognition of a remarkable sixth All-Ireland in seven years and a fourth Division One league title in a row. In total 11 counties feature amongst the 45 nominations.

The Rebelettes nominated are Angela Walsh, Deirdre O’Reilly, Briege Corkery, Bríd Stack, Geraldine O’Flynn, Juliet Murphy, Rhona Ní Bhuachalla and finally their inspirational captain, Amy O’Shea.

Monaghan and Dublin top the list of nominations with ten and nine nominations respectively in recognition of fine contributions to the 2011 season and some outstanding individual displays.

The Farney county are well represented by Gráinne McNally, Sharon Courtney, Christina Reilly, Aoife McAnespie, Cora Courtney, Amanda Casey, Therese McNally, Catriona McConnell, Ciara McAnespie and teenage sensation Caoimhe Mohan.

2010 champions Dublin will look back on the year with mixed feelings having gained promotion in the League but then relinquishing both Leinster and All-Ireland crowns. Dublin will be very happy with their haul of nine nominees. The Jackies nominated are Sinéad Goldrick, Gráinne O’Malley, Gemma Fay, Sorcha Furlong, Denise Masterson, Noelle Healy, Lyndsey Davey, Elaine Kelly and Sinéad Aherne.

The remaining nominations are spread out as follows; Laois (6), Kerry (5), Meath (2), Kildare (1), Leitrim (1), Armagh (1), Cavan (1) and Wexford (1). Laois, managed by Joe Higgins, won a very competitive TG4 Leinster Championship while Kerry made significant progress this season before being narrowly beaten by Monaghan in a very close All-Ireland semi-final. 

2011 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Football All Star Nominees:


Irene Munnelly (Meath), Ciamh Dollard (Laois), Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford)

Full Back Line

Gráinne McNally (Monaghan), Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Angela Walsh (Cork), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Aishling Leonard (Kerry), Gráinne Dunne (Laois), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Christina Reilly (Monaghan), Gráinne O’Malley (Dublin)

Half Back Line

Briege Corkery (Cork), Gemma Fay (Dublin), Fiona Mahon (Meath), Bríd Stack (Cork), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan), Aisling Holton (Kildare), Alison Taylor (Laois), Sorcha Furlong (Dublin)


Juliet Murphy (Cork), Tracy Lawlor (Laois), Lorraine Scanlon (Kerry), Denise Masterson (Dublin), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Amanda Casey (Monaghan)

Half Forwards

Therese McNally (Monaghan), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Mary Kirwan (Laois), Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Catriona McConnell (Monaghan), Martina Dunne (Laois), Elaine Kelly (Dublin), Margaret O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Full Forwards

Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Amy O’Shea (Cork), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry), Aine Tighe (Leitrim), Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan), Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry), Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Cork), Aisling Doonan (Cavan)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs