Cork and Monaghan lead the way at TG4 All Stars

Cork and Monaghan lead the way at the TG4 Ladies All Star Awards
2013 TG4 Senior Ladies All Ireland finalists, Cork and Monaghan, claimed nine All Stars between them with Cork accumulating 5 awards and Monaghan collecting 4.
Deirdre O’Reilly and Briege Corkery earned their selection in defence with Juliet Murphy capping off a fine year returning from her retirement with an All Star in midfield. All Ireland goal scoring hero, Valerie Mulcahy, was selected at corner forward for her 4th All Star. 
Geraldine O’Flynn was rewarded on the double as the Portlaoise based secondary school teacher was selected at left half back but also claimed the Player’s Player of the Year Award after having a vintage year.
Monaghan’s Full back line were recognised as they earned two places through Grainne McNally and Sharon Courtney the other two Monaghan All Stars coming in the half forward line where Cora Courtney was joined by scoring sensation, Caoimhe Mohan.
Cora Staunton collected a remarkable 9th All Star at full forward and was joined by fellow Mayo star, Yvonne Byrne, in goal who received her first award. Kerry also earned 2 All Stars as Sarah Houlihan and Louise Ni Muircheartaigh collected their 2nd awards after also being selected in 2012.
Dublin captain, Sinead Goldrick, earned her 2nd All Star at centre half back with Annette Clarke rounding out the selection as the Galway star earned her second midfield All Star to that collected in 2004.
There were also awards for Offaly and Cavan as sharpshooter, Mairead Daly claimed the Junior Player’s Player of the Year Award for All Ireland Junior Champions, Offaly and Grainne Smith was selected as the Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year after enjoining a fine year for Cavan as they went all the way to claim the Intermediate title.
It was also announced that Hong Kong will be the destination for the 2014 All Star tour next March.
2013 TG4 All Star Team
  1. Yvonne Bynre (Mayo)
  2. Grainne McNally (Monaghan)
  3. Sharon Courtney (Monaghan)
  4. Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork)
  5. Briege Corkery (Cork)
  6. Sinead Goldrick (Dublin)
  7. Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)
  8. Annette Clarke (Galway)
  9. Juliet Murphy (Cork)
  10. Sarah Houlihan (Kerry)
  11. Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan)
  12. Cora Courtney (Monaghan)
  13. Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)
  14. Cora Staunton (Mayo)
  15. Louise Ni Muircheartaigh (Kerry)
2013 TG4 Player’s Player of the Year
Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)
2013 TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year
Grainne Smith (Cavan)
2013 TG4 Junior Player’s Player of the Year
Mairead Daly (Offaly)
2013 Hall of Fame 
Mary Jo Curran (Kerry)
2013 TG4 Connacht Young Player of the Year
Tess Murtagh (Roscommon)
2013 TG4 Ulster Young Player of the Year
Neasa Byrd (Cavan)
2013 TG4 Munster Young Player of the Year 
Kate Lenehan (Cork)
2013 TG4 Leinster Young Player of the Year
Lucy McCartan (Westneath)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs