Cork Post Primary Schools Junior B Final



Post Primary Schools Junior B Final 

Presentation Mitchelstown 3-2 Mount St. Micheal
Rosscarbery 0-8

This county final played in Donoughmore had it all
excitement tension and great football, Presentation
Mitchelstown had a dream start with a goal from
Kathleen Martin in the second minute the Rosscarbery
girls rallied strongly and points from their star
centre forward Maura O Brien had them level ten
minutes later the third point came from a superb
save from Pres goalie Orla Murphy when she turned
over a goal bound shot from O Brien.

A well worked move from Pres saw Linda O Flynn restore
their advantage when she goaled a minute later.
Points from O Brien and the hard working Aileen
Kearns for Ross and a late reply from Emma Walsh
saw only two points between the team at the interval,
Pres 2-1 Ross. 0-5.  Rosscarbery with Donna O Regan
and Noirin O Brien winning everything in the middle
of the field dominated the opening ten minutes of
the second half but only had an O Brien point to
show for it. The ball passed the half way line for
the first time on the 12th Minute and the Pres girls
were to extract the full advantage when Linda O
Flynn found the net for the second time and Karen
Bailey followed up with a point.

Maura O Brien then got her sixth point of the day
and when Rosarie Collins pointed in the 25th. Minute
it left only a goal between the teams. The Ross
girls pressed forward in search of that elusive
goal but could find no way past a superb Pres defence
in which full back Aoife Gallahue and goalie Orla
Murphy were outstanding. Stacey Dawson drifted back
to win some good ball for Pres and they managed
to hang on to add the Junior B title to the Junior
C title that they had won in 2002.

Pres Mitchelstown: O Murphy T Kinsella A Gallahue
E Siske B Freween F Considine A O Connor Lisa O
Flynn E Russell K Bailey 0-1 S Dawson K Martin 1-0
Linda O Flynn 2-0  L Courtney E Walsh 0-1 Mount
St Micheal ; M Connelly M Hayes K Collins C O Donovan
S Sheehan D O Donovan D O Regan 0-1 N O Brien A
Kerins R Collins 0-1 M O Brien 0-6 T Hayes M Gallway
S Hyland Evans D Collins K Hourihane A Kelley N
Twomey R McCarthy. Referee Dan O Mahony



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs