Cork take every Munster title and 3 National Titles


take every Munster title and 3 National

By Fr. Liam Kelleher


Cork ladies Football ended 2003 with a phenomenal
3 All-Ireland Club titles, Donoughmore, Senior,
Naomh Abán, Intermediate and Gabriel Rangers Junior,
that set the scene for great expectations for
2004. Those expectations were fulfilled and Cork
can look back on a year of more dominance at underage
level, contributing to an improvement, of the
fortunes of the Senior squad.

For the first time in history Cork, took the Munster
Senior crown beating Kerry in a memorable final
at Pairc Ui Rinn. Earlier they had put paid to
the ambitions of Waterford who with Kerry have
dominated ladies Football at Munster and National
level for 30 years. Cork had a great run too in
the Suzuki National League and held fancied Mayo
for most of the game, before they were overcome
by a devastating burst from Cora Staunton.

Cork had waited a long time, for that First senior
Championship Munster Crown and that memorable
day on the 15th of August, will be looked back
on as a major turning point in the fortunes of
the rebel girls. Cork were simply brilliant on
the day, after a tight opening half Cork led by
a goal when Aisling O’Connor netted on the stroke
of half time. Kerry fought back after the break
but for the last 15 minutes, it was all Cork,
with player of the match Geraldine O’Flynn putting
the issue beyond doubt with a cracking goal 8
minutes from time. The honour of lifting the cup
fell to Juliet Murphy, Cork had made it at last.
the final score Cork 4-13 Kerry 1-9 .

Senior Champions Cork

Elaine Hart, Niamh Keohane, Brid Stack, Laura
Power, Briege Corkery, Angela Walsh, Rena Buckley,
Catriona Foley, Juliet Murphy capt, Nollaig Cleary,
Valerie Mulcahy, Geraldine O’Flynn, Mary O’Connor,
Regina Curtin, Amanda Murphy, Claire O’Donoghue,
Aisling OConnor, Norita Kelly, Sinead O’Reilly,
Mairead Kelly, Hanora Kelleher Karen O’Sullivan,
Deirdre O’Sullivan, Ciara Walsh.
Manager: Mary Collins
Coach: Eamonn Ryan

Cork’s day of joy was complete when the Juniors
triumphed over Tipperary 3-11 to 2-8 and Mairead
O’Sullivan accepted the cup on behalf of her teamates

Under age:

At underage level Cork Under 14’s won the Munster
title for the 5th year in a row, but their ambitions
for 5 in a row All-Ireland titles came unstuck
against Mayo, who subsequently lost the final,
in a replay to Dublin.

Cork however made amends by capturing the All-Ireland
under 14 blitz at Mullingar overcoming Dublin
in the final. It was left to the under 16’s and
Minors to continue Cork’s dominance and they did
so in style. Cork saw off Donegal in the under
16 final at Mullingar, they had a tremendous fight
against Dublin in the semi and in a game of passion,
pace and fury, they just got the better of the
gallant Dubs. Donegal proved to be very tough
but sporting opponents in the final but Cork triumphed
on a a scorline of 6-11 to 3-10. Cork dominated
the opening period and looked set for victory
early in the 2nd half, but Donegal fought back
but another goal by hat-trick heroine, under 14
player Rhona Buckley, closed the door. Siobhan
Forde from Mourneabbey was the proud captain.
Amanda Murphy Beara who collected her 7th All-Ireland
underage medal this year was named player of the
Match. Amanda at 15, now has 4 All-Ireland under
14 medals one under 16 and 2 minors, a distinction
she shares with Club mate Laura Power.

Cork All-Ireland winning U-16 Team

successful All-Ireland wining panel:
Murphy, Cathy Ann Stack, Anita Thompson, Aine
p O’ Sullivan, Louise Coholan, Claire O’Leary,
Roisin O’Sullivan, Laura Power Siobhan Forde,capt,
Laura Harrington, Amanda Murphy, Jenny Luddy,
Emma Coomey, Rhona Buckley, Deirdre Cotter Linda
Barrett, Eimear O’Donovan. Maebh Westwood, Geraldine
Rea, Sarah Barry, Noelle Corkery, Aoife Coughlan,
Sinead Heelan, Tracy Mullane Anna Ward, Patricia
Murphy, Sinead O’Brien, Aine G O’ Sullivan. Vicki
Power, Yvonne Twomey, Michelle Twohig..
Management. Mary Power, Denny Healy, Charlie
Mc Laughlin Christy O’Sullivan, Fr. Liam Kelleher.

Minor Win:

The “Dream Team” All-Ireland under 14 champions
of 2000, continued their remarkable record, they
were a class apart and left Waterford, Kerry,
Galway and Laois trailing in their wake. In the
final they were never in danger and won on a scoreline
of 4-17 to 0-8. Briege Corkery St Vals. a truly
inspiring capt lifted the trophy aloft and Maria
O’Neill was named player of the match.

All-Ireland winning Minor Team

Team. Claire O’Donoghue, Ciara Walsh, Brid
Stack. Elaine O’Riordan, Niamh Keohane, Rena Buckley,
Laura Power, Norita Kelly, Geraldine O’Flynn,
Amanda murphy, Maria O’ Neill, Briege Corkery
capt, Catriona Foley, Sile Burns Laura O’Mahony,
Tara Galvin, Orla Murphy,, Aine O’Sullivan, Catriona
O’Connell, Claire Daly, Lisa McSweeny, Margaret
Murphy, Niamh Canty, Ciara O’Sullivan, Emma Dunne,
Laura Harrington, Aine Dempsey, Carmel McCarthy,
Aine P O’Sullivan, Deirdre Cotter. Management.
Mary Power, Con O’ Sullivan, Christy 0’Sullivan,
Eamonn Ryan, Fr. Liam Kelleher.

From a personal point of view I have to place
it on record, my tremendous appreciation of this
particular group of girls, having been manager
of the teams for 14, 16 and 2 All-Ireland Minor
successes. Their dedication and commitment was
tremendous but more than anything else their loyalty.
All-Ireland medals are important to win, but equally
important is the character and loyalty that players
have. For me the most important aspect of all
those years, in an era when there is so much of
a drop off in Sport, was the fact that we had
such a high level of continuity. Fourteen of the
starting 15 that won the under 14 All-Ireland
title in 2000, played in the 2004 All-Ireland
final and that says it all. Hopefully now that
most of them have moved on to the adult ranks,
they will be equally well looked after. Thanks
to all, who helped and to Pat Lynch a special
thanks for his huge support and efforts, in videoing
all our games.

All Stars and Young player of Year

This year Cork received 5 Nominations for All
Star Awards. Juliet Murphy Donoughmore, Rena Buckley
Donoughmore, Valerie Mulcahy, Rockban, Angela
Walsh Inch Rovers and Geraldine O’Flynn Dromtariffe.
Congratulations to Rena Buckley and Valerie Mulcahy
who made it to the final 15. Laura Power Beara,
took the award for the Munster Young Player of
the year.

All-Ireland club Final:

Donoughmore were unlucky to lose out by a point
to Ballyboden St Enda’s in the All-Ireland Senior
Club Final.

Continued growth.

At Co level the game continues to grow with new
clubs springing up on a regular basis. It is important
in a society with growing obesity, that exercise
in any shape and form must be encouraged and there
is little doubt that those involved in Ladies
Football will get plenty of exercise fun and enjoyment

Bowing out: From my own point of view I
am bowing out of Cork ladies Football after 7
most enjoyable mostly happy and successful years.
I have made some great friends and have been involved
with tremendous parents and players, supporters,
especially financial, officials, and fellow workers
on and off the field. Thanks for the memories.
Thanks also to every section of the media for
giving such excellent coverage to Ladies Football
I still have one final goal, one final dream to
fulfil, helping to achieve ultimate honours at
Senior level. pity that I did got the chance to
do it, with my beloved Cork.

Fr Liam Kelleher 087-8516984



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs