Deasy displays Dublin's determination

Deasy displays Dublin’s determination
Date: Sat. 27th March 2004.
Venue: Naomh Mearnog CLG, Portmarnock, Co. Dublin.

Dublin U-16 Ladies conclude a four match unbeaten record,
in emphatic style, to top Group A, as the round-robin phase
of the Leinster Championship competition concludes. Dublin
contests the Leinster Semi-Final on 1st May in a strong and
dominant position. To round off the first phase of the Leinster
Championship, Dublin secured another emphatic and impressive
win over Kildare.

With Dublin in full sail, it would be difficult to pick one
crew member over another. With an emphatic scoreline, one
would expect praise to be lavished on the forwards, but the
spotlight turned last Saturday in Naomh Mearnog, as corner-back,
Aine Deasy (Fingallian’s) stole the show. Outstanding in defense,
with resolute determination, displayed consistently throughout
her championship appearances in the Dublin colours, Aine was
uncompromising in her defence. Even the most skillful Kildare
forwards had their work cut out in the face of such a confident

Kildare registered the opening score of the game with a point
foom a free, awarded to full-forward, Sarah Callinon (Naas).
Between them, Dublin forwards, Lynsey Davey (Skerries Harps);
Amy McGuinness (Fingallian’s); Orla Cotter (Naomh Olaf); Tara
Carolan (St. Brigid’s) and Lorna Hillery (Castleknock) had
registered 8 consecutive points without reply, before Kildare’s,
corner-forward, Aine Gately (Confey) scored a point, minutes
before her partner Sarah Collinon (Naas) scored the opening
goal for Kildare. This was the only punctuation mark to interupt
Dublin’s spectacular point-scoring extravaganza. The same
crew of Dublin forwards repeated their scoring sequence, yielding
a 15 point tally to the Capital against Kildare’s: 1-2.

Dublin: 0-15; Kildare: 1-2

Lorna Hillery (Castleknock), within the first 45 seconds of
resumed play, emphatically and confidently rattled the back
of the Kildare net with a suberbly engineered goal from a
Tara Carolan pass. This sealed Kildare’s fate and Dublin’s
winning prospects looked distinctly on course. Undaunted by
the reality of Dublin’s superiority, Kildare’s corner-forward,
Aine Gately (Confey) scored a goal. But it was Dublin’s wing-forward,
Lynsey Davey (Skerries Harps) who notched up two points to
offset Kildare’s final two points from Collinon and corner-forward,
Siobhan Hurley (Balyna). But Dublin turned on the style with
Amy McGuinness (Fingallian’s) and Tara Carolan (St. Brigid’s)
each blasting the back of the Kildare net in triumphant style.

Full-time score: Dublin: 3-17; Kildare: 2-5

Dublin scorers: Amy McGuinness (Fingallian’s): 1-05;
Lorna Hillery (Castleknock): 1-03; Tara Carolan (St. Brigid’s):
1-03; Lynsey Davey (Skerries Harps) 0-05; Orla Cotter (Naomh
Olaf): 0-01.
Dublin Team: Lynn Dowling (Parnell’s); Rachel Fleming
(Castleknock); Amy Murphy (St. Mark’s); Aine Deasy (Fingallian’s);
Andrea Bowe – Capt. (Round Tower); Aoife Greene (Fingallian’s);
Karen Hudson (Fingallian’s); Amy McGuinness (Fingallian’s);
Lorna Hillery (Castleknock); Lynsey Davey (Skerries Harps);
Katie Murphy (St. Brigid’s); Orla Cotter (Naomh Olaf); Rachel
Hersee (Thomas Davis); Tara Carolan (St. Brigid’s);Vivienne
Lee (St. Sylvester’s).
Dublin Substitutes: Ciara Murphy (Cabinteely) for Rachel
Hersee (Thomas Davis); Elaine Finn (St. Mark’s) for Vivienne
Lee (St. Sylvester’s); Emma Bates (Castleknock) for Katie
Murphy (St. Brigid’s); Deborah Doherty (Fingallian’s) for
Rachel Fleming (Castleknock); Siobhan Devlin (St. Brigid’s)
for Amy Murphy (St. Mark’s).
Dublin Panel: Rachel Jones (St. Brigid’s); Lisa McIntyre
(St. Sylvester’s); Aoife Dunne (Fingallian’s); Caitriona Payne
(Thomas Davis); Orla Vallely (Cabinteely); Roisin Morgan (Raheny);
Rachel Attley (Naomh Olaf); Kate Hogan (Ballinteer St. John’s);
Aoife McGovern (Cuala) and Aoife Kilkenny (St. Brigid’s).
Kildare Team: Jessica Whelehan (Sarsfields); Leanne Farrell
(Balyna); Sharon Melia (Ballykelly); Stephanie Smyth (Eadestown);
Sheila Boylan (Eadestown); Carol Bergin (Balyna); Sinead McHugh
(Leixlip); Aoife Mostyn (Confey); Nadhin McBride (Maynooth);
Zoe Gough (Confey); Kia Lowry (Clane); Aine Gately (Confey);
Sarah Callinon (Naas) and Siobhan Hurley (Balyna)

Forthcoming fixtures: Leinster Semi-Final – Sat.1st
May, 3.00 pm.
Venue & opposition: TBC

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs