Derry Bow Out

Derry Bow Out

Derry Ladies bid for an All Ireland title came to an end on Sunday (6th April) after a spirited performance against Cavan. This was the Suzuki, National League Division 3 semi final and the prize was a place in the final against Limerick (a team Derry had beaten in their league). The game kicked off at 2.35 at Celtic Park and the conditions were cold but fairly dry for most of the game. Cavan had a strong wind at their back in the first half and knocked over the first point of the game after just 1min 40sec. Derry responded with an equalizer less than a minute later and another point in the 6th minute. Playing a tight hand passing game against the wind Derry were looking very strong for the first fifteen minutes and had most of the possession until a goal from Cavan started the turn of the game. Cavan went o to score a further two goals (one of which was a Derry own goal/OG) and three points, leaving the teams going in at half time with a score line of Cavan 3-4 Derry 0-2. The second half left Derry with all to do, with an 11 point deficit the Derry girls pushed hard and although knocking over ten points in the second half and having most of the possession the much needed goals didn’t come. Cavan sealed the game with a further goal and point in the second half leaving a final score of Cavan 4-5 Derry 0-10.

Derry Substitutes made. Michelle McAteer for Shauna Vallely, Aine McCusker for Ursula Mullan and Emma Doherty for Aisling Kealey
Derry Team
1.Breigeen Cassidy,
2.Nuala Doherty, 3.Nuala O’Hagan, ,4.Naomi McMullan,
5. Kathy Conway (0-4), 6.Una Harkin, 7.Aisling Moore
21.Aisling Kealey (0-1) 9. Mary Angela Conway,
10.Clodagh Gormley,11.Ursala Mullan, 12. Shauna McCallion(0-2),
13.Shauna Vallely, 14.Louise Glass 15.Julie McLaughlin(0-1)
Michelle McAteer(0-2), Emma Kelly, Emma Doherty, Joanne Devine, Clare Lagan, Aine McCusker, Mairaid McCann, Ciara Moore, Natasha McEldowney, Clare Smyth.

Cavan Team

1.Christine McCutheon
2. Joanne Moore, 3. Siobhan McGorry, Sheana Kiernan,
5. Aislng Harton, 6. Ailish Cornyn 7. Donna English
8. Patricia Lynch(1-0) 9. Claire Murtagh(0-1)
10. Bronagh Sheridan(0-1), 11. Aisling Doonan(0-2) 12. Renee Murphy
13, Claire Kearns, 14. Roisin O keefe(0-1) 15. Grainne McGlade

Sharon Cassidy, Siobhan Jordan, Erinn Galligan, Caitriona Leddy, Lorna Reilly, Mona Sheridan, Brid Boylan(2-0), Claire Maguire, Rosie Crowe, Niamh Farrell, Niamh McGlade

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs