-The Donegal ladies got their Division 1 National league with momentum after winning the Division 2 last year.Eamonn O’Boyle started his campaign off to a flying start with twelve of last years panel in the the starting fifteen, and I have no doubt he will be very pleased with the attitude and momentum of these girls’ the showed on the day in Ballyshannon-and watched by a small crowd but the Press were there in large numbers.

Galway were first out of the blocks when Mairead Coyne finished to the net with a well taken goal,followed by a point by LornaTayor .

This score just pushed Donegal girls to up the ante and Eilish Ward responded with a well taken point from a free followed by points from Yvonne Mc Monagle,and Geraldine Mc Laughlin and a goal from Niamh Hegarty.From this pont forward the Donegal Girls were in front until the end of the game.Scorers for Donegal were Yvonne Mc Monagle a point from play and one from a free,Geraldine Mc Laughlin got goal number two ,with points from Karen Guthrie to leave the Donegal score 2–7.Galway scorers in this half were Anne Marie Mc Donagh, Edel Concannon, Mairead Coyne and Anne Marie Mc Donagh. Half time score

Donegal 2–7 Galway 1–5

Galway got on the score sheet first in the second half with a points. from Catriona Concannon and Mairead Coyne.Donegal continued where they left off in the first half with points from Niamh Hegarty ,Eilish Ward from a free and a goal and a point from Geraldine Mc Laughlin.Galway replied with points from Eimear Bourke and a sub introduced with 22 on her shirt. Yvonne got points from a free ,one from play and another from a free.Galway got another goal when Donegal were left standing per Mairead Coyne but Geraldine Mc Laughlin replied with the goal of the match to end the game with Donegal comfortable winners. Final score

Donegal 4–13 Galway 2–9.

Teams : Donegal Roisin Mc Cafferty,Kelly Wilson,Tanya Kennedy,Niamh Friel,Grainne Houston,Ciara Hegarty,Deirdre Foley,

Aoife Mc Donnell,Karen Guthrie,Roisin Friel,Niamh Hegarty,Karen Feeney,Eilish Ward,Yvonne Mc Monagle,Geraldine Mc Laughlin.

Galway: Tina Hughes,Sarah Noone,Eimear Flaherty,Sarah Lynch Niamh Lohan, Rebecca Mc Philbin,Catriona Concannon,Aoibheann Daly,Deirdre Lawless, Anne Marie Mc Donagh,LornaToyan, Eimear Bourke,Edel Concannon, Mairead Coyne,Lisa Lemass.

Paddy Coll

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs