2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Donegal - excellent defence


Donegal started the 2003 season under new management,
with last year’s trainer Maxi Curran taking over from Dermot
Gallagher. After a trawl of the county during the winter months,
a panel was set up, to try and build on the team’s achievement
of reaching the All-Ireland final last year. The team took
part in Division 1 of the Suzuki National league, and recorded
a notable victory against Waterford.

They played several friendlies against senior opposition (Down,
Tyrone x2, Monaghan, Longford, Roscommon) in the lead up to
the Ulster Championship first round tie against Armagh. Playing
against Armagh in the first round in Ballybofey in early June,
Donegal recorded a 3 point victory (ten points to 1-4), with
Debbie Lee Fox, Charlene McHugh, Diane Toner, Donna Dunnion
and substitute Maureen O Donnell performing well. They easily
defeated Fermanagh 2-19 to 0-1 in the semi-final with Michelle
Doherty, Aoife Hegarty, Debbie Lee Fox and Yvonne Mc Monagle
performing best. In the final the came up against an upcoming
Cavan team, eventually defeating them 3-12 to 2-4, with Donegal’s
goals coming from Nicola Lacey, Shiela Campbell and Maureen
O’Donnell. In the Ulster final Donegal defeated a young Cavan
team with a scoring burst at the start of the second half,
where they scored 1-4 without reply.

Key players on the day were Diane Toner at Centre half back,
Debbie Lee Fox, Yvonne McMonagle and substitute Maureen O’Donnell
causing most problems for the Cavan team. They defeated Sligo
in the All Ireland semi final with a scoreline of 3-9 to 1-7
with the goals coming from a brace by Shiela Campbell and
the other from captain Debbie Lee Fox. The score was 3-8 to
1-3 at half time with Sligo’s goal coming from a penalty.
Donegal only scored 1 point in the second half to Sligo’s
4 points but, the defence never looked troubled, with Diane
Toner, Michelle Doherty and Donna Dunnion being excellent.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs