Donegal Shock Champions Armagh

Donegal Shock Champions Armagh
Donegal 2-5 Armagh 0-8

Donegal caused a major shock yesterday as they dumped reigning champions Armagh out of this years Ulster championship. Two second half goals coupled with some tenacious defending helped the Tir Chonnail side to a 2-5 to 0-8 victory.

Caroline O Hanlon opened the scoring for Armagh when she sent over a free in the 6th minute. Donegal levelled through Yvonne Mc Monagle but then there were no more scores for thirteen minutes as both defences were on top. Armagh did go ahead in the 22nd minute when Aileen Matthews fired over another free but then the first point from play from Brigid Gallagher tied the game at the break 0-2 each.

Early in the second half Armagh raced into a four point lead. Aileen Matthews sent over three scores while Maebh Moriaty also opened her account. Donegal to their credit never panicked and in the 16th minute Eilish Ward capitalised on a defensive error to score a goal, which left just a point between the sides. Matthew then brought her tally for the match to six points with a couple of nice scores however a point form Ward kept Donegal in touch.With 29 minutes of the second half gone Niamh Hegarty got in behind the Armagh defence and her blistering shot found the net to put Donegal ahead for the first time.

In injury time Karen Guterie and Nadine Doherty fired over further points. Referee Gerard Devlin then awarded Donegal a penalty which Ward put wide however it didn’t really matter as the Tir Chonnail girls were three ahead when the final whistle went. Manager Dominic Mc Glinchey was delighted with the result saying afterwards, “We’ve been preparing for this game since the 28th December. The girls have done all the hard work and got their just rewards today”. Donegal will now meet Monaghan in the semi final.


Donegal – R. Mc Cafferty, D. Toner,L. O Sullivan, A. Buggy, M. Herron. A. Mc Donnell, G. Houston, N. Stapleton, M. Devenney, N. Hegarty (1-0), N. Doherty (0-1), T. Doherty, B. Gallagher (0-1), E. O Herlihy, Y. Mc Monagle (0-1) Subs Used – E. Ward (1-1) and K. Guterie (0-1)

Armagh – D. Hagan, C. Marley, D. Toal, C. Mc Cann, R. O Mahony, B. O Donnell, M. Moriarty (0-1), C. O Hanlon (0-1), A. O Donnell, S. Duncan, M. Mc Alinden, M. Mc Guinness, O. Murtagh, S. O Hagan, A. Matthews (0-6) Subs Used – S. Reel

Referee – G. Devlin (Tyrone)


Patricia Monahan,
National Games Administrator

01-8363156 (Ph)
01-8363111 (Fax)
087-2523998 (Mobile)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs