Double glory for Coláiste Bhaile Chláir following Lidl All-Ireland PPS Junior B All-Ireland final win

Lidl PPS All Ireland Junior B Final

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir 6-11
St Brigids Killarney 1-16

COLÁISTE Bhaile Chláir are the Lidl All Ireland PPS Junior B champions after a comprehensive victory over a spirited St Brigids Killarney outfit in Rathkeale today.

Victory for Coláiste Bhaile Chláir crowns a glorious week for the Claregalway school, who won the senior C title last weekend.

The sides were level 12 minutes into the second half at 3-07 to 1-13 but the Galway outfit powered on from here and outscored their opponents by 3-4 to 0-3 to emerge as deserving champions.

Central to their last quarter dominance was the performance of super sub Andrea Trill who came off the bench to garner 2 goals and a point to drive her side on to victory when they needed her most.

St Brigids did have a good start to the game and went 1-3 to 0-1 up after just 7 minutes with their goal coming after Shelly Clifford set up the inrushing Ciara Randles for an excellent finish.Coláiste Bhaile Chláir needed a response and it came with efforts from Chellene Trill, player of the match Shauna Brennan and Sinead Donovan.

Shauna Brennan of Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Claregalway is presented with the player of the match award by President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association Maire Hickey following the Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior B Final match between St Brigids, S.S, Killarney and Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Claregalway, Galway at Mick Neville Park in Rathkeale, Limerick. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Shelly Clifford pointed for St Brigids but Shauna Brennan then struck for Coláiste Bhaile Chláir’s first goal after Sinead Donovan showed excellent vision to put her through.

St Brigids were still pretty much in control but the excellent tackiling from the Coláiste Bhaile Chláir defence were frustrating their efforts.

Julie Delaney and Randles ,from a free, pushed St Brigid’s 1-6 to 1-4 ahead but Coláiste Bhaile Chláir then struck for their second goal of the game in the 25th minute when Sinead Donovan rifled the back of the Evie Culloty’s net.Brennan for Coláiste Bhaile Chláir and Randles for St Brigids swopped points once more and St Brigids took a 2 point lead in with them at the break.

St Brigids started the second half brightly and Anna Clifford scored a superb point after a searing run through the Coláiste Bhaile Chláir’s defence.The Galway side responded immediately and Eimear Mitchell scored their third goal to level the contest.Kate Slevin and Randles then traded points before the electric Shauna Brennan slotted over a brilliant score to push Coláiste Bhaile Chláir 1 ahead, Randles equalised for St Brigids, but from here on it was all Coláiste Bhaile Chláir for the rest of the contest as they firmly put St Brigids to the sword.

3 goals in 4 minutes, with 2 from sub Andrea Trill and Kate Slevin powered the Galway girls into a 6-8 to 1-14 lead and with just 10 minutes left on the clock. In fairness to St Brigids they didn’t give up and Ava Murray in the Coláiste Bhaile Chláir goals was forced to make a good stop from Shelly Clifford. Coláiste Bhaile Chláir weren’t to be denied however, and Kate Slevin and Chellene Trill added points to finish out the contest and see Coláiste Bhaile Chláir add teh All Ireland PPS Junior B title to the Senior C title they garnered 2 weeks ago.

Player of the Match was awarded to the excellent Shauna Brennan who terrorised St Brigids throughout the game.

Scorers –

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir: Chellene Trill (0-2), Sinead Donovan (1-2), Kate Slevin (1-3), Andrea Trill (2-1), Eimear Mitchell(1-1), Shauna Brennan (1-2)

St Brigid’s Killarney: Ciara Randles (1-6, 4f), Chloe O’Connor (0-1),Anna Clifford (0-3),Kate Lynch (0-3), Shelly Clifford (0-1)Julie Delaney (0-2)

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir: Ava Murray, Megan Flaherty, Laura Flynn, Emma Murphy, Kiara Kearney, Niamh McGrath, Leah Tunney, Shannon O’Connell, Chellene Trill, Edel Flattery, Sinead Donovan, Kate Slevin,Laura Scanlon, Eimear Mitchell, Shauna Brennan.

Sub: Andrea Trill for Laura Scanlon 35 mins.

St Brigid’s Killarney: Evie Culloty, Megan Brosnan, Amy Myers, Isabelle Murphy,Tara Murphy, Ava Doherty, Zena Shine, Mairead Bennett, Chloe O’Connor, Anna Clifford, Ciara Randles, Treasa O’Sullivan, Kate Lynch, Michelle Clifford, Julie Delaney.

Referee – Jason Mullins (Limerick)



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs