Double joy for Cork as Juniors win


Joy for Cork by Fr. Liam Kelleher

Cork 3-11 Tipperary 2-8

There was double reason to celebrate for Cork
when the juniors came from a point behind
at the interval to run Tipperary ragged in
the 2nd half. Cork strck for goal in the very
first minute from Clodagh O’Driscoll then
Tipperary settled down and goals from Libby
Grogan and Patricia Hickey looked to have
unnerved Cork.

Cork came back strongly and Elaine O’Riordan
was at the end of a terrific move and she
ran right through to score a peach of a goal
and after that Cork’s confidence grew.

O’ Sullivan shows her delight – Click to

Junior Team- Click to enlarge
half back line of Tara Galvin, Ciara Walsh,
and particularly Blathnaid Wiseman were superb.
Annie Walsh dominated midfield and got great
assistance from Sheila O’Callaghan, the forwards
really came into their own in the 2nd half
with Niamh Hickey Siobhan Forde and Elaine
O’Riordan the pick of a vastly improved attack.
Cork hit Tipprary with a succession of points
without reply early in the 2nd half. Tipperary
tried their best to hold on to their, but
late points only served to put a more respectable
slant on the score board for them. Cork who
had been beaten in the round robin series
by Tipperary showed vast improvement and now
could be live contenders for the All-Ireland
title. It was a proud day for Mary Collins
of Rockchapel manger of both the Senior and
Junior teams that achieved the historic double.

Niamh Hickey 1-3 , Elaine O’Riordan
1-1 Clodagh O’Driscoll 0-4. Siobhan Forde
0-2 Mary White 0-1 Aisling Barrett 0-1.

Tipperary Scorers: Patricia Hickey
1-1 Edel Hanley 0-3 Patreece Ryan 0-1 Libby
Grogan 0-1 Mairead Morrissey 01 Clare Tobin
Player of Match: Angie McDermott.

Cork: Mairead O’Sullivan, Norma Kelly,
Marie O’Connor, Catriona Moran, Tara Galvin,
Ciara Walsh, Blathnaid Wiseman, Sile O Callaghan,
Annie Walsh, Elaine O’Riordan, Ashling Barrett,
Laura Harrington, Clodagh O’Driscoll, Niamh
Hickey, Mary White, Wendy Walsh, Siobhan
Forde, Triona Lucey, Grace O’Sullivan, Elaine
Cotter, Lisa McSweeney, Mairead O’Sullivan,
Eleanor Twohig, Kathy Ann Stack, Tracey
Mullane, Mairead Rea.
Tipperary: Helen Kennedy, Jennifer
Grant, Carmel Condon, Grainne Wade, Sarah
Cody, Maeve Corcoran, Ann O’Dwyer, Claire
Carroll, Angie McDermott, Patreece Ryan,
Libby Grogan, Mairead Morrissey, Patricia
Hickey, Edel Hanley, Claire Tobin, Jayne
Clancy, Claire Peters, Madeline Aherne,
Denise Fitzgerald, Claire Lambert, Nancy
Ferris, Siobhan Bourke, Orla Fahey, Aisling
Hackett, Mary Ryan, Joanne Doherty, Catriona
Hennessy, Kate Slattery, Lorriane Bourke,
Claire O’Brien.

Peil Caillini og. Kerry 8-2 Cork 3-4

There was no joy for Cork in the opening
game between a selection of Primary girls
from Kerry and Cork. Kerry were stronger
physically and led by 5-0 to 2-1 at the
break,. Cork cut the margin down to a goal
with 10 minutes to go., they missed a few
good chances and Kerry came again with 3
late goals to seal victory.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs