Down memory lane as trailblazers honoured at Tyrone county finals

Info supplied by Tyrone LGFA

Cookstown were Tyrone’s first Intermediate champions in 1999. 
Tyrone’s first Senior Champions in 1992, Carrickmore, honoured at 2022 county final. 
This is the 30th year of our senior championship and competitive football in the county and, as a county, we celebrate the pioneering players of our game who took those first steps.
The senior championship final was played at Dunmoyle between Carrickmore and Omagh, with the “Carmen Girls” getting their hands on the Masterscreen cup.
After a semi-final win over Errigal Ciaran, Omagh were good value for their final spot.
Carrickmore had seen off Aghaloo but in the final it was a clinical Carrickmore who won 4-10 to 1-5, with Omagh, missing several key personnel, always on the back foot.
Paddy Mc Garvey presented the McGarvey cup for the first time to Beragh Captain Nuala Mc Cartan in 1995, as the Red Knights claimed the first junior title with a 3-10 to 3-2 win over Trillick at O’Neills Healy Park.
We then waited until 1999 for the first intermediate champions, Fr Rocks Cookstown, and once again it was Trillick who missed out as the Cookstown side claimed a 6-10 to 11-6 win and actually became the first winners of the McGarvey cup at Intermediate grade. the first cup to be presented as champions in a different championship.
On the same weekend, 14-year-old Orla Toner scored four goals for Loughmacrory as they became the first holders of junior football’s new cup, the Brenda Logue memorial cup.
All the first winners have been honoured this year at our County finals. 

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs