Dublin B denied place in Suzuki Ladies Final

Dublin denied place in League Final:
Dublin 2-03 Limerick 1-08

Dublin’s B team bowed out of the Suzuki Ladies National league
yesterday following a two-point defeat by Limerick. The game
itself was played at a frantic pace with both sides giving
their all, at stake was a place in this years league final.
Dublin had to make two changes to their full forward line
prior to the game following mid week injuries to team captain
Vivienne Naughton and Dublin’s top scorer in this years league
campaign Elena Griffin, Naughton and Griffin were replaced
by Helena Reddy and Gemma Orange.

From the start both the Limerick and Dublin’s defence where
in top form and as a result scores where at a premium. Limerick
got on the scoreboard first with points coming from full forward
Louise Higgins. Limerick threatened to dominate at midfield
where Mary Shire was in top form however Dublin introduced
Lynsey Kilmurray into the half forward line in place of Ciara
Burgess and with Kilmurrays added strength and height Dublin
started to threaten the Limerick defence. Limerick had taken
a five-point lead when Dublin captain for the day Louise Kidd
lopped the Limerick keeper Dyan Carroll to score a brilliant
goal, which brought Dublin, right back into contention. Just
before the break Angela Gallagher pointed from a free to leave
the minimum between the sides at half time. Dublin 1-01 Limerick

Limerick again got the better start when they added another
point onto their tally three minutes into the second half.
Limerick substitute Catherine Murphy was starting to cause
problems for Dublin’s Roisin Staunton and had made a number
of runs into the heart of the Dublin defence one of which
paid off when she blasted past Dublin keeper Caroline Hughes
to put Limerick ahead by five points.

At this point Dublin introduced Jenny Weldon, Ciara Kilpatrick
and Louise Kane in an attempt to freshen up and reinforce
a tired Dublin forward line, the tactic seemed to work as
Dublin ran at Limerick and eventually where rewarded for their
efforts when Dublin midfielder Denise Masterson blasted the
ball past the Limerick keeper. Dublin with renewed passion
started to dominate midfield and piled the pressure on the
Limerick backs. Limerick defender Maedhbh Nash excelled at
the heart of the Limerick half back line eventually setting
up Limerick forward Leanne Higgins for a fisted Limerick point
which but three points between the sides.

Dublin gave their all in the last five minutes with points
coming from Ann Clarke and another point via a free from Angela
Gallagher. When the final whistle blew the groan of relief
was palpable from the Limerick sideline with two points the
winning margin. Dublin had given their all and had shown great
resolve and determination against a Limerick side who had
previously beaten Dublin by 17 points when the last played
each other on the 28th of February. Dublin now turn their
attention to the Leinster Junior championship, which commences
next Sunday May 9th when Dublin take on Wexford. Venue and
times TBA.

Dublin Team v Limerick: Caroline Hughes, Gemma Orange,
Patricia Gordan, Tressa McConnell, Nichola Murphy, Roisin
Staunton, Avril Cluxton, Louise Kidd, Denise Masterson, Lisa
Moore, Ciara Burgess, Ann Clarke, Angela Gallagher, Helena
Reddy, Anna McGillicuddy. Dublin Scorers: Louise Kidd 1-00,
Denise Masterson 1-00, Angela Gallagher 0-02f, Ann Clarke
Dublin Subs: Lynsey Kilmurray for Ciara Burgess, Jenny
Weldon for Helena Reddy, Ciara Kilpatrick for Lisa Moore,
Louise kane for Lynsey Kilmurray, Fiona Walsh for Anna McGillicuddy.

Dublin Panel: Lorena Aver, Sandra McEvoy, Jeanette
Beirnes, Una McKay, Kim Masterson, Ann Hunt.
Dublin Player of the Match: Nichola Murphy (Croi Ro

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs