Dublin beat Carlow In Leinster Minor Championship

Leinster Minor Championship: Friday April 18th.
Dublin v Carlow
Venue: Lawless Memorial Park, Swords
Referee: Paddy Brady (Meath)
Full Time Score: Dublin 2-08, Carlow 1-05
Half Time Score: Dublin 0-04, Carlow 1-02

The Leinster minor championship is a knockout competition and as such can be a very difficult competition to prepare for as you could be gone out after one game but following the brilliant display by Dublin’s young stars this will not be the case for Dublin this year! On paper Dublin would have started this game as favourites due to inclusion of Dublin senior players Karen Kennedy, Emma Redmond and Karen Moore but the two teams were very equal in standard with the minimum between them at the break. Dublin started well with some fine long range points scored by Dublin full forward Emma Redmond indeed Emma was to be Dublin’s only scorer in the first half with three points from play and a point from a free but if Emma Redmond was Dublin’s first half star Edel Hayden was Carlow’s. With Dublin in the lead by two points with as many minutes remaining on the clock in the first half Hayden went on a run from her own 45 yard line and finished with a brilliant shot from 21 yards out that rattled the Dublin net, this goal gave Carlow a one point lead at the break.

Dublin made a number of positional switches in the second half, which saw Emma Redmond being moved to centre forward and Karen Moore moving from full back to the corner and the introduction of Nicky Fitzpatrick but it was Raheny’s Roisin Gillen who came into the game and scored three points from play however Carlow also added three points giving them a one point lead from then on in this is were this game became tense and pulsating. Carlow were starting to run at the Dublin defence but Dublin backs Nicola Murphy and Catherine Finnegan held tight and defended well, Nicola Murphy broke out of defence and found Karen Kennedy who supplied an excellent pass into Dublin substitute Nicky Fitzpatrick who in turn found the net. The goal gave Dublin a two- point lead but Carlow hit back and with determination got themselves a penalty following a foot block by a Dublin defender, Dublin keeper Caitriona McGrath blocked the penalty shot and Dublin broke away. Emma Redmond secured the game with a goal from 30 yards out that lobbed Carlow keeper Aine Nolan.

Dublin now progress to the quarter final of the Leister championship, which will take place on May 5th.

Dublin Team: Caitriona McGrath, Nicola Murphy, Karen Moore, Catherine Finnegan, Elaine Caverly, Sorcha Furlong, Debbie Burnett, Karen Kennedy, Niamh Rabbitte, Kim Masterson, Lisa Morris, Susan Hughes, Emily Hamill, Emma Remond, Roisin Gillen. Subs: Nicky Fitzpatrick, Amy McGuinness, Sinead Finnegan, Amy Keane, Eve McCarthy.
Dublin scorers: Emma Redmond 1-04, Roisin Gillen 0-03, Nicky Fitzpatrick 1-01. Carlow Team: Aine Nolan, Trese Ryan, Eileen Cullen, Maura Bamrick, Gerogina Coleman, Aine Kinsella, Regina McDonald, Karen doyle, Srah Kelly, Kelly Dalton, Fiona Byrne, Edel hayden, Louise O’Brien, Lea Mullins, Grainne Cowman.
Carlow Scorers:
Edel Hayden 1-02, Fiona Byrne, Lea Mullins, Kelly Dalton 0-01 each.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs