Dublin beat Meath by 2 points



Dublin boss, John O’Leary, delivered the first salvo of the
Suzuki Ladies National Football League with a win over the
Royal Meath in Simonstown on Sunday afternoon. Pitch surface
conditions were difficult but this did not deter the resolve
of a determined Dublin squad, captained by Martina Farrell,
anxious to erase the memories of 2003.

A strong wind favoured Meath in the first half enabling them
to clock up seven points. Dublin showed great commitment and
dogged determination which paid off with a goal from Na. Fianna’s,
Mary Nevin four minutes into play. Her club colleague, Bernie
Finlay, registered a point, followed by Karen Hopkins (Ballyboden
St Enda’s) goal, five minutes before the half-time whistle

Half-time scoreline made both sides level. Dublin 2-1; Meath

Play resumed in the second period with wind advantage to Dublin
Dublin’s legendary midfield, Angie McNally (Ballinteer St
John’s), secured her first point, 10 minutes into the second
half. Meath’s scoring opportunities were confined to two points
in the second half, whilst Dublin’s, Karen Hopkins added a
further point, 20 minutes into the second half. Two minutes
later, McNally again sent the ball over the crossbar. Aishling
McCormack (St. Mark’s) secured Dublin’s final point, four
minutes before the final whistle.

Final score; Dublin 2-5; Meath: 0-9.
Referee: Christy Haughney (Carlow.)

Next clash sees Dublin take on Laois in a double-bill, at
Na Fiannas grounds at Mobhi Road, Glasnevin, next Sunday.
Division 1B, Dublin -v- Laois, 2.00 pm Division 3B, Dublin
B -v- Wexford, 12.45 pm.

Admission: Adults E5, Students E3, U-14 s: Free.


Dublin: Karen Hopkins 1-1, Mary Nevin 1-0, Angie McNally
0-2 (2f), Bernie Finlay, Aishling McCormack 0-1 each.

DUBLIN – Cliona O’ Connor; Sorcha Farrelly, Louise Keegan,
Maria Kavanagh; Niamh Hurley, Orla Colreavy, Niamh McEvoy;
Angie McNally, Martina Farrell; Elaine Murphy, Gemma Fay,
Bernie Finlay; Karen Hopkins, Elaine Kelly Mary Nevin. Subs:
Sinead Ahern for Mary Nevin (inj), Aishling McCormack for
Elaine Murphy, Noelle Comyn for Elaine Kelly

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs