Dublin Clinch


GREGORY McGonigle’s Dublin claimed a fifth successive TG4 Leinster ladies senior football championship crown this afternoon (Sunday).

The Jackies demolished Westmeath by 26 points in a surprisingly one-sided provincial decider at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

28 February 2016; Nicole Owens, Dublin. Lidl Ladies Football National League, Division 1, Dublin v Cork, Parnell Park, Dublin. Picture credit: Ramsey Cardy / SPORTSFILE *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***

Dublin ran out 4-23 to 0-7 winners against the Lake County, to repeat last year’s final success against the same opposition.

There was little to suggest that such a wide gulf would separate the counties at the finish as Dublin led by nine points at the break – 1-11 to 0-5.

In a wind-swept encounter, Sinead Goldrick scored the only goal of the first half for Dublin as Leona Archibold kept Westmeath in touch from frees.

Nicole Owens had four points on the board for Dublin by the interval, as Goldrick added a point to her goal.

Lyndsey Davey collected two first half points while Carla Rowe and Sinead Aherne were also on the scoresheet.

The floodgates opened in the second half, however, as Dublin stepped on the gas to outclass Westmeath.

Nicole Owens claimed the player of the match award after finishing with six points but Davey was the leading scorer for Dublin as she registered 1-4.

Rowe and Aherne also netted second half goals for Dublin – who have now booked a safe passage to the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Dublin, Monaghan and Mayo have now claimed three of the four provincial senior titles on offer – with the scene set for the Kerry-Cork Munster decider in Killarney this evening (7.0).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs