Dublin Ladies Gaelic News

Dublin v Wexford Saturday 22nd February 2003. Venue: Fingallians (Swords)

Both the Dublin Under-14 and Dublin Under-16 teams had impressive victories over Wexford today (22.02.03) in their first round fixture of the Leinster Championship.
Full Time Score – Dublin 6-11: Wexford 1-02 (under-14)
Half Time Score – Dublin 2-06: Wexford 0-02 (under-14)
Full Time Score – Dublin 4-10: Wexford 1-01 (under-16)
Half Time Score – Dublin 2-08: Wexford 0-00 (under-16)
Match Official : Michael Ryan (Meath)


The Dublin Under-14’s were up first and were very quick to take control of the game with Dublin forwards Catriona McGilp (Cabinteely) and Tara Carolan (St. Brigids) causing problems for the Wexford defence from the outset. The Dublin midfield duo of Gemma Quinn (O’Tooles) and Katie Murphy (St Brigids) majestically controlled the midfield area thus providing great ball for the Dublin forwards to fed from, the Dublin defence also played well with Sinead O’Mahony (Man-O-War) and Aoife Dunne (Fingallians) very commanding in their full back and centre back position respectively. In a very one sided encounter Dublin came away with a 6-11 to 1-02 win and eagerly look forward to their next round fixture on Saturday the 8th of March versus the Royal County – Meath.

Dublin under-14 team V Wexford: Niamh Maguire (St Peregrines), Sinead Goldrick (Cabinteely), Sinead O’Mahony (Man-o-War), Amy Murphy (St Marks), Aoife Mcgovern (Cuala), Aoife Dunne (Fingallians), Denise McKenna (Fingallians), Katie Murphy (st Brigids), Gemma Quinn (O’Tooles), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps), Tara Carolan (St. Brigids), Fiona Hudson (Fingallians), Cherie Kavanagh (Croi Ro Naofa), Lean Mahon (Croi Ro Naofa), Catriona McGilp (Cabinteely). Panel: Ciara Murphy (Cabinteely), Roisin Murray (St Judes), Karen McGlynn (Skerries Harps), Sarah McGinn (Clontarf), Catriona Payne (Thomas Davis), Elaine Bolger (Foxrock), Emma Travers (St Peregrines), Emma Reilly (Croi Ro Naofa).
Subs: Roisin Murray for Fiona Hudson, Karen McGlynn for Tara Carolan, Elaine Bolger for Sinead Goldrick, Ciara Murphy for Cherie Kavanagh, Catriona Payne for Ciara Murphy.
Dublin Scorers: Tara Carolan 2g – 1pt, Lyndsey Davey 2g, Catriona McGilp 5pts, Fiona Hudson 1g – 1pt, Katie Murphy 2pts, Gemma Quinn 1pt, Lean Murphy 1pt. Wexford own goal.

Wexford under-14 Team v Dublin: Shauna Murphy (Shelmaliers), Aoife Morrissey (Taghman / Camross), Ciara Owley (Kilanerin), Rebecca Kehoe (Kilmore), Julie Kelly (St Fintans), Sandra Foley (St James), Karen Rochford (Clongeen), Roisin Clarke (Shelmaliers), Michelle O’Brien (Shelmaliers), Aisling Veale (Shelmaliers), Eimear O’Brien (St Fintans), Catriona Murphy (Kilamerin), Gemma Somers (Ballyhague), Catherine Doyle (St James), Avril Mullery (Horeswood).


The second game was nearly a repeat of the first with Dublin once more being the stronger team; playing against the breeze in the first half Dublin took control of the game and was soon on the scoreboard with a fine point by Amy McGuinness (Fingallians). Other scores soon followed and by half time Dublin had a commendable lead, 2-08 to 0-00. In the second half Wexford took the game to Dublin but the Dub’s were just to strong in every sector of the pitch, with Dublin players, Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians), Anna Conlan (Kilmacud Crokes), Caoilfhionn Ni Leidhin (Kilmacid Crokes), Amy McGuinness (Fingallians) in superb form, Dublin ran out comfortable winners with the final score line reading Dublin 4-10, Wexford 1-01.

Dublin under-16 team v Wexford: Jenny Cooke (Fingallians), Aisling Kelly (Kilmacud Crokes), Aoife Greene (Fingallians), Aoife Kilkenny (St Brigids), Andrea Bowe (Round Tower), Sinead Finnegan (Fingallians), Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis), Anna Conlan (Kilmacud Crokes), Caoilfhionn Ni Leidhin (Kilmacid Crokes), Orla Vallely (Cabinteely), Amy McGuinness (Fingallians), Grace O’Neill (Foxrock), Kathy Whyte (Naomh Olaf), Sinead Tucker (Round Tower), Natasha Barnwell (Fingal Ravens).
Subs: Orla Cotter (Naomh Olaf) for Sinead Tucker, Karen Hudson (Fingallians) for Grace O’Neill, Fiona Merriman (Kilmacud Crokes) for Orla Vallely, Catherine Cotter (Naomh Olaf) for Kathy Whyte, Orla Sadlier (Fingallians) for Amy McGuinness.
Dublin Scorers: Amy McGuinness 2g- 5pts, Natasha Barnwell 1g- 1pt, Grace O’Neill 1pt, Orla Vallely 1g, Sinead Finnegan 1pt, Orla Cotter 2pts. Wexford Under-16 team v Dublin: Shauna Murphy (Shelmaliers), Ceara O’Brien (Shelmaliers), Jacqui Codd (Shelmaliers), Annaleigh Hora (Kilmore), Elaine Banville (Shelmaliers), Sinead O’Gorman (Taghman), Barbara Tighe (Ballygarrett), Monica Whelan (St Annes), Leanne Power (Shelmaliers), Theresa Redmond (Ballygarrett), Mary Wickham (St Annes), Deirdre Fox (Shelmaliers), Mary Cullan (Kilaneim), Aine Cosgrove (Ballygarrett), Lisa Gogg (Kilmmore).

Dublin Under-14 Management: Pat Sayers (Cabinteely), Philip McAnenly (Foxrock), Georgina McGovern (Cuala).
Dublin Under-16 Management: John Hillery (Castleknock), Camillus Kilpatrick (Naomh Jude), Padraig Kelly (kilmacud Crokes), Mary McGuinness (Fingallians), Gerry Greene (Fingallians).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs