Dublin Minors Impressive in Victory

Dublin booked their place in the Minor All Ireland following a 21 point victory over Armagh in Inniskeen. Ulster champions Armagh got the dream start when full forward Dearbhla Coleman netted for the Orchard County with under a minute gone on the clock.


Dublin rocked by the early Armagh goal and playing against a strong wind for the opening half took time to settle into the game. Corner forward Rachel Douglas got the Leinster champions on the score board with a free kick with Danielle Lawless tagging on the Dub’s second score of the game.


Crowe was on target again for Armagh giving her side a slender two point lead but Douglas soon brought Dublin level with two well taken frees. Dublin took the lead in the 17th minute courtesy of full forward Julia Buckley and to their credit Dublin would not lag behind their opponents from there on in. Buckley scored Dublin’s opening goal in the in the 22nd minute and Dublin dominated the closing stages of the first half leading at the interval by 1-10 to 1-01.


Hannah O’Neill popped over the opening score of the second half to increase Dublin’s lead out to ten points. Armagh midfielder Maria Murphy worked hard for her team and was on target both from play and free kicks but the game as a contest was over as Dublin were now in full control in all sectors of the pitch. Dublin finishing strongly with Aoife McGrath, Julia Buckley and Hannah O’Neill all raising the green flag for the girls in blue.


An indication of Dublin’s dominance in the second half was evident by the fact that they outscored their opponents by 3-11 0-8.


Dublin will now play Cork in the All Ireland final on August 1st as the Rebel County pipped Galway in the other semi-final by 3-14 to 3-12.


Images from the semi-final can be viewed on GAApics.com



Katie Ronan, Siabh Hannigan, Tarah O’Sullivan, Sinead Moran, Emily Flanagan, Laura McGinley, Shannon Murtagh, Jade Sweeney Knott, Erica Byrne, Mia Jennings, Hannah O’Dea, Hannah O’Neill, Danielle Lawless, Julia Buckley, Rachel Douglas


Dublin subs:

Aoife McGrath for Jennings, Jennifer Dunne for Sweeney Knott, Muireann O’Gorman for Hannigan, Clara O’Sullivan for Douglas, Leona Corr for Murtagh


Dublin scorers;
Julia Buckley 2-4, Rachel Douglas 0-7(5f), Hannah O’Neill 1-2, Danielle Lawless 0-4, Aoife McGrath 1-1, Erica Byrne, Hannah O’Dea, Clara O’Sullivan 0-1 each



Orla Toman, Sarah Louise Doherty, Colleen McKenna, Meabh McCambridge, Blaithin Mackin, Niamh Coleman, Cait Towe, Maria Murphy, Jordan Carr, Megan McCann, Aiobhinn Henderson, Annalivia Hynds, Alanna Doran, Dearbhla Coleman, Megan O’Callaghan


Armagh subs:

Grace French for Carr, Colette McCrink for McCann, Orlagh McPartland for McCambridge, Jayne Hearty for Doran, Megan Kelly for Towe


Armagh’s scorers;
Maria Murphy 0-7(4f), Dearbhla Coleman 1-1, Blaithin Mackin 0-1


Referee: Conor Dourneen (Cavan)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs