Dublin star Goldrick present as Fitzpatrick lands Lidl PPS Leinster Player of the Year award

Scoil Chríost Rí, Park Ratheniska and Laois footballer, Erone Fitzpatrick, was announced as the 2018 Lidl PPS Leinster Player of the Year at the Launch of the 2018-19 season in Áras Laighean on Thursday night, November 8.

The post-primary schools’ competitions in Leinster continue on their upward trajectory with an incredible 527 teams taking part in Leinster competitions in the 2017-18 season. There were 17 finals in total played for across the three grades; Senior, Junior and U14.

Leinster LGFA President, Dominic Leech congratulated all teams in their endeavours and thanked most sincerely the coaches, teachers and all those behind the scenes for allowing so many girls to represent their school.

Uachtarán LGFA Marie Hickey spoke of the huge value of being part of a team and playing football for a school and how it builds resilience, with lessons coming whether a team wins or loses a game.

Hickey thanked Leinster Council for their continuing development of the schools’ competitions and paid great tribute to the work of Leinster Administrator Margaret Brennan in ensuring the competitions were carried through to a successful conclusion. Hickey also commended and thanked the support of Lidl for their partnership which has helped to support and develop the LGFA in many different ways, in particular the superb sponsorship it has made available to so many schools across the country.

Five time All Star and TG4 All-Ireland Senior winner with Dublin, Sinéad Goldrick, also spoke to the attendees and spoke of her own fond memories of playing alongside her schoolmates.

Goldrick stated that playing football was so valuable on so many different levels – skills that could be applied to other areas of one’s life and how she had benefitted so much from playing for her school team.

It has been a busy week for Goldrick as last Sunday she lined out for her club Foxrock-Cabinteely, where she went on to win a fourth successive Leinster Senior crown.

They face Ulster Champions, Donaghmoyne, in the crunch semi-final clash on November 18th. Leinster President, Dominic Leech thanked Sinéad for attending and wished her, and her teammates well in the crucial fixture.

It has been a huge year for Erone Fitzpatrick. Winning a PPS Senior A Championship with her school, Scoil Chríost Rí from Portlaoise was only the start of the success as Fitzpatrick also went on to secure a Leinster Minor title and was a key member of the Laois Senior squad when they defeated Wicklow in the Intermediate Championship Final. For her incredible performances with Scoil Chríost Rí, last night Fitzpatrick received the Bill Daly Award and was named Lidl PPS Leinster Player of the Year for 2018. Friends and family were on hand to celebrate this unique achievement with a clearly delighted Fitzpatrick.

Dominic Leech ended proceedings by wishing all those participating in this year’s competitions the very best of luck. We look forward to another wonderful year of schools’ competitions!

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs