ESB Moneypoint Clare U - 14 A Ladies Football Championship Final

Press Release. ESB Moneypoint Clare U –
14 A Ladies Football Championship Final

Venue: Clareabbey, Clarecastle.
Date: Friday, October 20th.

The Banner 8 – 10 Wolfe Tones na Sionna
0 – 2

The scoreline says it all. Reigning All Ireland Féile
Division One and All Ireland Sevens Champions The Banner Ladies
U – 14’s did not disappoint in this Clare county championship final
played in Clareabbey on Friday evening. Wolf Tones na Sionna, the
recently crowned ESB Moneypoint Clare B champions, entered this
match with every intent on making a serious challenge to dethrone
the current county and All Ireland champions. However, on an evening
that the Ennis team were to receive a public civic reception from
the Mayor and Town Council of Ennis, the Banner girls had no intention
of letting anybody spoil their celebrations.

This wonderful team of girls has been five years in the making.
From The Banner’s first Féile appearance in 2000 – when all
at the club could but dare to dream of achieving the silken skill
levels of the then All Ireland winners, the Katie O’Driscoll led
Southern Gaels of Kerry- the seeds were sown to plot an ambitious
challenge for All Ireland Division One glory. That in 2006 The Banner
completely outplayed the self-same Southern Gaels on their way to
All Ireland victory shows how far this great team has progressed.

On Friday against hapless Wolfe Tones it was exhibition football
from the Banner girls as the whole team displayed their amazing
array of footballing skills that left the neutral onlooker breathless.
The great Kerry team of the 1970’s & 80’s came to mind when
one saw these girls in full flow. Intricate passing movements woven
into sublime scores were the order of the day in Clareabbey as a
bemused Wolfe Tones team were completely outplayed.

Credit Wolfe Tones however for their valiant effort and their never
say die attitude right to the final whistle. With players like Catherine
Danaher, Harriet Flynn, Toni Lagan, Rachel O’Brien and Leona Regan
amongst others in their ranks, this Shannon team will have many
better nights ahead of them into the future and will win much silverware
in the year’s ahead. Their singular misfortune was to be pitted
against this formidable Ennis team at this stage in their club development.

The Banner dominated this game from the outset and had early goals
from Megan Hough, Niamh O’Dea and Lauren Dooley. Long range points
from Hough and Eimear O’Connor then followed before corner forward
Aoife Davoren kicked three magnificent points from play. Á
la Maurice Fitzgerald, Aoife chose to kick two of these off her
left while kicking the third from all of thirty metres off her right
foot – super stuff. With Eimear O’Connor dominant at midfield and
the hardworking Naomi Carroll, Clodagh Glynn and Katie Cahill all
getting the better of their opponents this final was closed out
by half time. Leona Regan put Wolfe Tones on the board with a twenty
minute pointed free but even when the Tones moved forward they got
little change from a Banner defence for whom Louise Woods, Marie
McMahon, Lorna Higgins, Laurie Ryan, Mary Allan and Marion Conway
were magnificent.

The second half was but a stroll in the Clareabbey park for the
winners and substitutes Aidín Shannon, Ann Waters, Edel Manton,
Niamh Walsh and Cathy Hayes all played their part. Congratulations
to the Banner on a great win and commiserations to Wolfe Tones na
Sionna on their brave and battling performance. Following the game
Clare County Board Chairman James Lafferty presented the ESB Moneypoint
U- 14 A Championship trophy to winning captain Louise Woods.

The Banner: Ellen Minogue, Mary Allan, Laurie Ryan, Marion Conway,
Louise Woods (Capt.), Marie McMahon, Lorna Higgins, Eimear O’Connor,
Katie Cahill, Clodagh Glynn, Naomi Carroll, Lauren Dooley, Megan
Hough, Aoife Davoren.

Subs Used: Edel Manton, Cathy Hayes, Niamh Walsh, Ann Waters, Aidín

Wolfe Tones: Katie Hearn, Harriet Flynn, Niamh Brady, Sarah Kirwan,
Gemma Quinlan, Kerri Quinn, Tatiana Duarte, Catherine Danaher, Toni
Lagan, Allanah Considine, Jennifer Malone, Leona Bridges, Rachel
O’Brien, Leona Regan, Niamh Considine.

Referee: Johnny Hayes


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs