Féile is a Huge Success in the West.

Caithlin Sherin Foxrock Cabinteely Div 1 Cup Winner


The 2014 Feile took place at the weekend throughout Connacht with Ladies Gaelic football forming one of the most entertaining parts of the entire weekend.

The 54 Ladies Football teams were divided into 4 Divisions with all Divisions culminating in a Cup and Shield Final.

In Division 4 there was a very international feel to proceedings as San Francisco and London were both entered into Group A where they competed with host clubs Dromohair and Mohill. Group B saw Curry, Rathvilly, Glencar Manorhamilton and Coatbridge Davitts with Eslin, Curry and Clencar Manorhamilton hosting the round. Well done to both London and San Francisco who managed to reach the semi finals of the Division 4 Cup but it was Rathvilly and  and Glencar Manorhamilton that progressed to the final with Rathvilly claiming the Cup. In the Shield final Dromohair-St. Patrick’s proved too strong for Curry as they were crowned Shield champions.

Division 3 was split into 4 groups with Glen/Williamstown, New York, Roscommon Gaels and St. Patrick’s from Wicklow making up Group A. Group B consisted of St. Brigid’s, Longford Slashers, Shamrock Gaels and Kilmore. Group C saw St. Mary’s, BallymcGuigan, St. Molaise Gaels and Carryduff compete to emerge from their group and in Group D it was Drumcliffe Rosses, St. Bridgid’s Belfast, Owenmore Gaels and Cooley Kickhams.

After some intense matches including two stunningly close Shield Semi finals it was Shamrock Gaels from Sligo that defeated St. Mary’s after scoring two decisive goals to claim the Shield title. the Division 3 Cup will have a nice trip across the Atlantic after New York defeated Carryduff in the final on a scoreline of 4-03 to 2-04.

Division 2 was split into 4 Groups consisting of Anaghdown, Killucan, Mountbellew and Castlerahan/Denn in Group A, Galway’s Ballinasoe joined Donaghmoyne, St. Bridgid’s Mayo and Clan Éireann in Group B. Group C was made up of Clan na Gael, Old Mill, Padraig Pearses and Thurles Sarsfields with the final group, Group D, made up of St. Croans, Doora Barefield, St. Faithleach’s and St. Paul’s from Laois.

The shield final was contested by St. Bridgid’s from Mayo and Old Mill of Limerick with the Munster club winning by 1-02 at the final whistle. Westmeath’s Killucan were the victors in the Division 2 Cup Final after defeating St. Paul’s, Laois in a keenly contested decider.

The top division, Division 1 was also split into 4 groups. Group A consisted of last year’s beaten finalists, Corofin of Galway and the team that defeated them, Foxrock Cabinteely of Dublin along with Kilkerrin/Clonberne and Offaly’s St. Rynagh’s. Group B included Claregalway, Dunboyne, St. Brendan’s of Galway and Kilkenny City. Group C saw Kilmoremoy of Mayo grouped with Kerry’s Fossa, Westport and An Charrig Mor from Tyrone. Then in Group D Tuam Cortoon took their place alongside Clane, Parke KC from Mayo and Glanmire of Cork.

Group 1 was to prove to be an extremely strong group with Corofin emerging to clinch the Shield crown at the expense of an excellent Kilkenny City team. It is great to see this Kilkenny team not only compete at the highest level but also reaching finals and acquitting themselves excellently, the future is bright in the Marble City.

Speaking of bright future’s perhaps none is so bright as that of Dublin’s Foxrock Cabinteely who captured the Division 1 Cup against an excellent Kilkerrin Clonberne team to make it two Feile titles in a row having won last year also.

Congratulations to all of the organisers, host clubs and families, officials and of course the clubs that participated, winning is not what matters on a weekend like this, it is taking part that is important and making good memories that will last forever and help to keep players involved in the game right throughout the age grades.

For a full list of Féile results please click here: Feile 2014 Results

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs