2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

First Ever Ladies International Rules Panel to be Finalised this Weekend

First Ever Ladies International Rules Panel to be Finalised
this Weekend


The final trial for the first ever Irish
Ladies International Rules panel will take place this Saturday in
Mullingar. The Irish team will play two Tests against the visiting
Australian side, the first taking place on 31st October with the 2nd
Test taking place just four days later.


Team Manager Jarlath Burns will be making some tough decisions
this weekend as he and his fellow selectors Kerry’s Robbie
Griffin, Pat Costello from Galway and Hayley Boyle from Armagh must
decide on a panel of 20 players from the weekend’s final trial.

Burns has been very impressed by the attitude and commitment the
players have shown over the past weeks. “Things are going great,
the girls fitness levels are superb, we are all very pleased with
the effort the girls have put in over the last few weeks. It’s
going to be very difficult to pick out just 20 players.”

Fellow selector Robbie Griffin echoed the team manager’s sentiments
saying “the overall standard has been exceptionally high, the
players have shown great vigour and intensity in all the Trial Games
so far. There is tremendous competition for places and the commitment
showed by all players has been first class.”

Burns sought the advice of the men’s International Rules manager,
Sean Boylan and was advised to be flexible and patient in his approach
and let the players who deserve a place in the squad come to the
fore during the trials.

“The girls have bonded well and although there is a of healthy
level of competition within the squad there is also a great sense
of camaraderie and this is something that we will be looking to
develop over the coming weeks,” said Burns

A squad of 20 players will be selected on Saturday night following
the final trial in Mullingar and ten players will be added to the
squad from the Cork and Armagh camps following the All Ireland Senior
Ladies Football final in Croke Park on October 1st.

The players who will be taking part in the final trial are:

B Sheridan (Cavan), L Henchy (Clare), M Downey (Down), S Aherne,
C O’Connor, L Kelly, M Nevin, G Fay (all Dublin), C Little
(Fermanagh), M Glynn, P Gleeson, L Joyce, U Carroll, A Clarke, A
Daly, N Fahy, E Flatherty, A McDonaugh, M O’Connell (all Galway),
G Ni Fhlatharta, S O’Connor, P Dennehy (all Kerry), B Leahy,
A Holden (both Kildare), A Casey, P Fogarty, M Kirwan, T Lawlor,
L Muckian (all Laois), M Nash, D O’Brien (both Limerick), S
Treacy (Longford), C Heffernan, H Lohan, C Staunton, E Mullin (all
Mayo), S Dooney, I Munnelly, G Nulty, J Shields, M Sheridan, L McKeever,
G Doherty (all Meath), C Brady, C Reilly, N Kindlon (all Monaghan),
M Morrissey, A McDermot (both Tipperary), M Kelly, L Donnelly, S
McGarvey (all Tyrone), M O’Donnell (Waterford), L Walsh (Westmeath),
L Tector, N Scallon (both Wexford)



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs