Fixtures and Preview for Round Two of the Bord Gáis Energy National League

Round two of the Bord Gáis Energy National League takes place this Sunday.


The big match in Division 1 is the clash of Monaghan and Cork, last year’s All Ireland Finalists. Both teams will have taken a well earned break after playing all the way to the last Sunday of September 2011 so they will not have returned to training too early. Having said this, regardless of fitness levels this is sure to be a great game of football. Neither side will want to give an inch as there is a good chance they will meet each other later on in the year.

The versatile Deirdre O’Reilly took over the full back position last Sunday since Angela Walsh Cork’s stalwart full back for the last number of years announced that she was taking a break from the county scene. O’Reilly and Goalkeeper Elaine Harte will have their work cut out for them keeping a clean sheet with Monaghan’s Ciara McAnespie on the prowl!

In Division 2 there are a number of interesting ties happening but an extremely competitive game is expected in Mayo. Noelle Coymn’s Clare will be laying a visit to Fr Murphy’s Mayo. After Cora scoring 2-9 in the opening round last Sunday, a big worry for player turned manager Coymn will be who will mark the influential scoring machine.

Division 3 is playing host to the 2011 Intermediate and Junior All Ireland Champions Westmeath and Wicklow. Alan Mangan’s Westmeath are heading to Greystones to take on Wicklow. With both team starting a fresh after a massivly succesfull 2011 the question will be who is better focused on the season ahead.

Limerick and Louth meet in division 4. These two teams met in the 2010 Intermediate All Ireland Final. There has been a lot of changes on both side since then but Louth will no doubt still remember their loss that day.


Fixtures for Round 2 of the Bord Gáis Energy National League: Sunday 12th February

Division 1

Cork v Monaghan, Pairc Ui Rinn, 1.00pm, (K Delahunty)

Kildare v Donegal, Ballykelly, 2.00pm, (M Doherty)

Laois v Tyrone, Portarlington, 2.00pm, (J Murray)

Meath v Dublin, Ashbourne, 2.00pm, (E O’Hare)


Division 2

Waterford v Galway, Mollerans, Carrickbeg, 2.00pm, (P Kehoe)

Cavan v Tipperary, TBC, 2.00pm, (T McSorley)

Mayo v Clare, Davitts Ballindine, 2.00pm, (PJ Rabbitte)

Kerry v Fermanagh, Kilcummin, 12.30pm, (MJ O’Keeffe)


Division 3

Roscommon v Armagh, TBC , 2.00pm (G Chapman)

Down v Wexford, St John’s Drumnaquoile, 2.00pm, (M Henry)

Sligo v Leitrim, O’Connolly Park, 2.00pm, (G Carmody)

Wicklow v Westmeath, Eire Óg, Greystone, 2.00pm, (T Lennon)


Division 4

Antrim v Longford, Casement Park, 2.00pm, (S McIntyre)

Limerick v Louth, Dromcollogher, 2.00pm, (G Buckley)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs