2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Galway will face Kerry in showpiece

Lidl National Football League Round 6 wrap

By Daragh Small

GALWAY joined Kerry in the 2023 Lidl Ladies National League Division 1 Final with victory over Mayo on Sunday.
The Kingdom had already booked their place in the decider coming into Round 6 and they will face Galway after a hard fought 0-13 to 2-6 win over their Connacht rivals.
Roisin Leonard scored 0-5 for the Tribeswomen and after leading 0-7 to 1-3 at half-time at MacHale Park in Castlebar, they did enough despite goals from Tara Needham and Rachel Kearns.
Galway will also play Kerry next weekend in Tuam Stadium but they will both likely have their sights set on Croke Park next month.
Elsewhere on Sunday, the reigning champions were beaten by Waterford, where it finished 1-9 to 2-5 at Ballinlough. Niamh O’Sullivan and Amy O’Leary found the net for Meath but it wasn’t enough as Lauren McGregor bagged the decisive goal late on.
On Friday, Dublin kept their slim hopes of reaching the Final alive when they claimed a 2-13 to 0-6 victory away to Donegal in Letterkenny. However, Galway’s win ended Dublin’s chances.
Finalists Kerry succumbed to their first defeat of the campaign when their Munster rivals Cork beat them 1-17 to 2-6 at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.
In Division 2, Armagh advanced to the Final after another impressive win. They got the better of Westmeath on a 3-15 to 1-6 scoreline.
Tipperary look most likely to join them there but they still have to negotiate Round 7 after today’s 2-15 to 1-7 victory over Tyrone.
Laois still have a chance of reaching the final too thanks to a 4-6 to 2-8 win against Cavan. Roscommon can still avoid relegation even though they could only draw, 0-13 to 0-13, with fellow strugglers Monaghan.
It’s still all to play for at both ends of the table in Division 3, where there were victories for leaders Kildare, Wexford, Down and Clare.


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1:

Dublin 2-13 Donegal 0-6
Cork 1-17 Kerry 2-6
Waterford 1-9 Meath 2-5
Galway 0-13 Mayo 2-6

Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 2:

Armagh 3-15 Westmeath 1-6
Laois 4-6 Cavan 2-8
Monaghan 0-13 Roscommon 0-13
Tipperary 2-15 Tyrone 1-7

Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 3:

Clare 1-14 Louth 1-5
Down 4-14 Offaly 1-7
Kildare 3-15 Sligo 1-5
Wexford 7-8 Longford 1-3

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs