2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Geevagh take title with grandstand finish

Geevagh take title with grandstand finish.


Kieran Holmes Sligo Senior Championship Final

Geevagh 3 – 8 St Nathy’s 1 – 12

The Barton Smith Cup will spend it’s first Winter on the road in
Geevagh, following this two point victory over defending champions
St Nathy’s on Sunday afternoon last in Kilcoyne Park, Tubbercurry
in front of a large attendance. The new champions never were in
front until the second minute of injury time – an injury time period
that lasted all of nine minutes – at that stage they trailed St
Nathy’s by two points at 1 – 12 to 2 – 7 when substitute Nicola
Sweeney cracked the ball to the defending champions net to sweep
the East Division side into the lead. Elaine O’Reilly added a point
late on to insure the cup would head eastwards for the first time
since Shamrock Gaels last won for the East back in 1995.

In a game that had as many twists as a Hitchcock thriller, the attendance
couldn’t have asked for better as first St Nathy’s hit the front
as Louise O’ Donnell flashed the ball past Emma Cullen in the Geevagh
goal to give the defending Champions a dream start. By the 11th
minute the sides were all square as Louise Smith cracked a goal
and both Elaine O’Reilly and Etna Flanagan exchanged points.. from
their to the half time break it was St Nathy’s who dominated as
they added seven points to their tally to Geevagh’s one to go in
at the short whistle ahead by 1 – 8 to 1 – 2.

Louise O’ Donnell’s goal arrived inside the opening sixty seconds
as Noelle Gormley and Angela Doohan combined out well on the right
wing. Over the next eight minutes the losers were guilty of some
poor shooting, recording no fewer than five wides each of which
were very score able. Flanagan’s, Smith’s & O’Reilly’s scores
all arrived in a two minute period between the 9th and 11th minutes.
By the 13th minute the Saints were back in front as Aileen Hannon
sent over. From there to the half time whistle the losers tacked
on another six points through Etna Flanagan, Noelle Gormley (2 frees),
Cammie Kennedy, Louise O’Donnell and Eilish Mc Hugh to a single
reply from Geevagh through Elaine O’Reilly.

St Nathy’s did most of their damage in a ten minute period from
the 15th to the 25th minute when Geevagh were reduced to 14 players
following the sin binning of Amanda Mostyn for what looked a very
ordinary foul that in most cases would not even warrant a lecture
let alone a Yellow Card. While St Nathy’s may have rued the missed
chances in the early part of the game, they could have found themselves
going in a lot less ahead only that Stephanie O’Reilly’s goal bound
shot was deflected out for a 45.

In the opening 4 minutes of the second period the winners recorded
two points through Bernice Byrne and Elaine O’Reilly with Aileen
Hannon replying for St Nathy’s. The next score in the 5th minute
was to play a major part in the Geevagh revival plan as a Laura
Mc Donagh centre deceived Maura Mc Loughlin in the St Nathy’s goal
with the ball ending up in the roof of the net to bring them to
within 2 points of the defending champions. Etna Flanagan eased
St Nathy’s nerves with a point in the 7th minute to restore a three
point advantage. Over the next thirteen minutes no score arrived
although both sides were guilty of missed chances, the majority
of which were by Geevagh. Points by Sinead Mc Tiernan and Lorraine
Mulvanny in the 20th & 21st minutes respectively had Geevagh
within a point.

The next two scores were to go the way of the losers as first Angela
Doohan and then Katrina Connolly restored St Nathy’s three point
advantage by the 25th minute. As the game ticked into injury time
little did one realize that the amount that would be played – referee
John P Kilgannon added a full 9 minutes, most of which was justified
– or even think of what was going to happen. Louise Smith kicked
a point in the first minute of injury time. At that stage one would
have though that Smith was unwise with her option as she could have
worked the ball through for a goal. As things turned out it was
the beginning of the Geevagh late, late show.

Nicola Sweeney was on the field a matter of minutes when she cracked
the ball to the net to send Geevagh into the lead for the first
time and their Supporters wild with excitement. Elaine O’Reilly
added a point in the 4th minute of injury time but another twist
remained to be played. St Nathy’s were awarded a few frees none
of which were converted, much to the delight of the Geevagh support.
As the final whistle sounded there were scenes of celebrations as
the Geevagh supporters made their way onto the pitch to acclaim
their heroes.

After the game the Barton Smith Cup was presented to the winning
captain Elaine Mc Tiernan by David Smith. For Geevagh they mill
now carry the flag for Sligo in Connacht when they take on Roscommon
Intermediate winners at a Sligo venue in the Connacht Intermediate
Championship semi final. For St Nathy’s they are left to ponder
on what might have been for another year.

Scorers Geevagh: Elaine O’Reilly 0 – 4, Louise Smith 1 – 1, Nicola
Sweeney & Laura Mc Donagh 1 – 0 each, Sinead Mc Tiernan, Bernice
Byrne & Lorraine Mulvanny 0 – 1 each.

Scorers St Nathy’s: Louise O’Donnell 1 – 1, Etna Flanagan 0 – 3,
Noelle Gormley & Aileen Hannon 0 – 2 each, Cammie Kennedy, Angela
Doohan, Katrina Connolly & Ailish Mc Hugh 0 – 1 each.

Geevagh: Emma Cullen, Amanda Mostyn, Michelle Mostyn, Maureen Mostyn,
Patricia Cogan, Elaine Mc Tiernan, Yvonne Frezer, Sinead Mc Tiernan,
Bernice Byrne, Lorraine Mulvanny, Louise Smith, Elaine O’Reilly,
Mairead Mc Donagh, Stephanie O’Reilly & Sarah Frazer. Subs used:
Laura Mullaney, Nicola Sweeney, Laura Mc Donagh & Elaine Dodd.

St Nathy’s: Maire Mc Loughlin, Denise Scully, Cammie Kennedy, Aisling
Frizzell, Nathalie Fitzmuurice, Mairead Keane, Edel Toolan, Etna
Flanagan, Angela Doohan, Aileen Hannon, Katrina Connolly, Ailish
Leonard, Louise O’Donnell, Noelle Gormley & Ailish Mc Hugh.
Subs used: Aine Gormley, Martina Keane & Claire Rooney.

Referee: John P Kilgannon (Enniscrone/Kilglass & Castleconnor)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs