2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Glen Ladies take League Title

Glen Ladies take League Title

Glen Ladies took the Derry Division 1 league title on Saturday evening (11/10/08) against old rivals Ardtrea at Ballinascreen.

The game got off to a 7.15 start under floodlights. It was Glen who was to get off to the perfect start with a point in just 34 secs not long followed by another point and a goal in just over two minutes of play. Ardtrea opened their score sheet in the forth minute with a point, which was quickly answered by Glen with three more points which left a scoreline of Glen 1-5 Ardtrea 0-1 in just under eight minutes of play.

It was in the ninth minute that probably set the tone of the game with a goal from Ardtrea. As Glen racked up the points, Ardtrea found the back of Glens net, putting away three goals in the first half. When the half time whistle was blown, even though Glen had scored 14 times to Ardtrea’s 5 the scoreline showed Glen 1-13 to Ardtrea 3-2 leaving a difference of only 5 points.

The second half saw Ardtrea’s come back continue with a quick point (after 16 secs). Within 9mins of the second half with a point from Glen and a goal and a point from Ardtrea the score difference had been reduced to just 2 points. With each team scoring a further goal in the next 5minutes and only 2 points difference after 48minutes of play, it was all to be played for in the last 12 minutes. It was at this stage that Glen Ladies took charge and dominated. Glen scored a goal and 6 points unanswered, before Ardtrea got the last sore of the evening, leaving the final score Glen 3-20 to Ardtrea 6-3, leaving the old saying “its goals wins games” not always true.

Glen captain, Michelle McAteer was presented with the League shield by County chair, John McEldowney. Mr McEldowney praised both teams for what was an entertaining, competitive and highly skilled game. He also gave recognition to Glen’s Kathy Conway for her nomination to this years All-Star team. Both captains thanked the teams and Ballinascreen for facilitating the game.


Glen Ladies Panel:

1.Breigeen Cassidy, 2. Terri McCallan, 3. Nuala O’Hagan, 4. Danielle Kivlehan, 5. Sarah Kerr, 6. Dervla McMaster, 7. Glen Ladies, 8. Michelle McAteer (0-2), 9. Mairead Graham (0-2), 10. Coimhe Moran, 11. Louise Dougan (1-1), 12. Mary Ryan (0-1), 13. Kathy Conway (1-4), 14. Louise Glass (1-7), 15. Ursula Mullan (0-3)

Subs: Maeve McCloskey, Nicky Burns, Amy Kielt, Michaela Craig, Catrina Convery, Christina Kelt, Stephanie Taylor, Donna Letters, Karen Kielt, Briege Convery

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs