GMIT to host HEC Championship Finals Weekend

The HEC is delighted to announce that all 6 championships semi-finals and finals will be played over the one championship weekend. This will occur on the 10th and 11th of March and will be hosted by GMIT Mayo.

The 12 semi-finals will take place on Friday the 10th in the Connacht Centre of Excellence in Bekan, Co Mayo with the 6 finals taking place on the 11th of March in Castlebar, Co Mayo.
The following is the list of teams which are declared for the HEC championships and the Grades they currently reside in. As stated before the commencement of the leagues, seeding in the O’Connor Cup, Giles Cup, Lynch Cup and Moynihan Cup have been decided from the league table placing, with Seeded teams receiving a home draw in the opening round of the Championships, as long as it is not contrary to HEC Bye Law 25. Then the venue will be a neutral venue.


All colleges need to confirm their participation in the Championships by emailing by 5pm Friday the 25th of November.


O’Connor Cup – 8 teams

            Seeded –         DCU, MU, UCD, UL

            Unseeded –     NUIG, Queens, St Pats Drumcondra, UCC


Giles Cup – 8 teams

            Seeded –         AIT, DCU2, IT Carlow, MICL,

            Unseeded –     CIT, IT Sligo, TCD, UL2


Lynch Cup – 8 teams

            Seeded –         Garda, DIT, UUJ, WIT

            Unseeded –     DKIT, IT Tralee, UCC2, UCD2


Moynihan Cup – 10 teams

            Seeded –         IT Blanchardstown, LYIT, NUIG2, UCD3     

            Unseeded –     DCU3, IT Tallaght, MICL2, MU2, RCSI, St Marys Belfast


Donaghy Cup – 8 teams

           AIT2, LIT, St Pats2, Marino, GMIT G, IT Carlow2, QUB2, TCD2,  


Lagan Cup – 8 teams

            No Draw. Two regional Blitz with the top 2 teams from each blitz going to the weekend.

Cavan Inst, DCU4, Drogheda, GMIT M, Law School, St Pats Thurles, UU Coleraine, UU Magee


Details of the date of the draw will follow then.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs