Good friday for the Cavan Ladies

Friday for the Cavan Ladies


Wicklow 0-11 Cavan 3-11

It was a good Friday for the Cavan ladies Gaelic football
team, as they progress to the semi-finals of the Suzuki
National Football League, when they beat Wicklow on Friday
last in Baltinglass. On reflection the gap could have been
a lot wider at the break, the Cavan side will reflect on
a number of missed opportunities to kill the game off in
the first half. However they were happy enough to go in
at the break with a six point margin (2-6 to 0-6). Cavan
continued to press in the second half , and although Wicklow
rallied in the final quarter they were unable to pare back
Cavans lead, the Breffni girls notching up a comfortable
nine point win at full time. The throw-in was delayed for
a short time to allow a number of Wicklow players, who arrived
late, a chance to warm up before the start. Cavan were well
prepared for the game and they took control from the start,
within the first minute Cavans number fourteen Aisling Doonan
brought a good save from Emer Miley, and from the rebounded
save, Cavans Claire Murtagh taught that she had opened Cavans
account, when her shot, which she adjudged had crossed the
Wicklow goal line was cleared by Mary Whelan, Referee Des
Enery consulted both umpires, and the decision was given
in favour of Wicklow, and the goal claim did not stand.
The umpire at the other end was called into action in the
third minute, Caoilfhionn Deeney tapping over to notch up
Wicklow’s first score.

For the next seventeen minutes it was the Cavan girls that
were the more accurate in front of goal, the Breffeni side
increased their lead by eight points, adding a goal and
five points before Wicklow’s Niamh Carroll pulled a point
back , after converting a forty five. The move of the game
came in the twenty third minute, involving Laura Corrigan,
Grainne Smith, Claire Murtagh, and Aishling Doonan, Doonan
firing over a great point. Wicklow, however will look back
at nine missed opportunities in the first half, and for
the first period in particular Cavan showed more composer
and accuracy in front of the posts. The gap at the break
could have been wider but for a number of excellent saves
from Wicklow’s influential Captain and keeper Emer Miley.
Cavans full back line of Ciara O’Reilly, Claire Kearns,
Siobnan McGorry, worked tirelessly and made brave blocks
to protect Karen Baxters goal.

At the start of the third quarter Wicklow were unlucky not
too register their first goal, Niamh Carroll took a quick
free kick to Aisling O’hAnnaidh, O’hAnnaidh’s goal bound
shot flew past the out coming Cavan keeper Karen Baxter
but her shot was blocked on the line by Cavans full back
Ciara O’Reilly. Cavan continued to increase their lead,
with points from Bronagh Sheridan, Elaine Costin, and Aishling
Doonan, and they were awarded a penalty in the seventeenth
minute, the spot kick was driven low to Emer Mileys right
by Aishling Doonan to open a ten points gap at the end of
the third quarter, While Wicklow mentors shuffled the pack
in the final quarter, and the home side responded to the
changes with a couple of well worked moves that resulted
in five points been added to the Wicklow score line in six
minutes, However it was goals that the Wicklow side needed
at this late stage, and despite the best efforts of the
Wicklow forwards, they were unable to breach the strong
Cavan defensive wall to raise the green flag. Cavan running
out comfortable winners at full time. The Cavan ladies must
now prepare for the semi-final stages of the NFL and at
the time of writing the draw has not been made yet.

Cavan Panel: Karen Baxter(Templeport), Siobhan McGrory(Drumgoon),
Ciara O’Reilly(Inny Gaels), Claire Kearns(Erne Gaels), Marie
Smith(Erne Gaels), renee Murphy(Lavey), Edel Farrelly(Knockbride),
Ailish Cornin(Ballinagleara), Laura Corrigan(Erne Gaels),
Grainne Smith(Killygarry), Claire Murtagh(0-1 knockbride),
Pamela Crowe(0-1 St. Finbars), Bronagh Sheridan (1-2 Erne
Gaels), Aisling Doonan(1-3 Templeport), Elaine Costin(1-3
Knockbride). Subs; Brid Boylan(Killygarry) for Bronagh Sheridan,
Caitriona Smith(Lavey) for Elaine Costin, Sharon Cassidy(Templeport)
for Grainne Smith, Aisling Harton(Gowna) for Claire Kearns,
Claire Costin(Knockbride)for Siobhan McGorry.

Wicklow Panel: Emer Miley, Capt. (Blessington), Maura Reid
(Blessington), Catriona McKeon (Kilbride), Mary Whelan (Blessington),
Lisa Brady (Bray Emmets), Eithne Byrne(Kilcoole), Marie
Kavanagh (Blessington0, Aine Byrne (Arklow Gers/Ballymoney),
Julie Fitzmaurice(Blessington), Cathriona Byrne(Arklow Gers/Ballymoney),
Aisling O’hAnnaidh(0-3Bray Emmets), Niamh Carroll (0-6 Blessington),
Caoilfhionn Deeney (0-1 Eire Og), Eadaoine Lenihan(Bray
Emmets), Mikaela Shelly(Bray Emmets), Subs: Chrissie Shortt(0-1An
Tochar) for Mary Whelan, Lorna Fusciardi (Eire oG) for Lisa
Brady, Monica Lynch(Newtown) for Julie Fitzmaurice, Aoife
Heffernan(Bray Emmets) for Eithne Byrne.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs