Here are the Cavan and Tipperary teams for Sunday's crucial TG4 All-Ireland SFC relegation Play-off

TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship – Relegation Final- Result on the Day

SUNDAY – Cavan v Tipperary, 1.00pm, Dolan Park, Virginia, Cavan

THIS is not where Cavan and Tipperary wanted to find themselves at the beginning of the championship season.

Two recent intermediate championship winners (Cavan 2013, Tipperary 2017) will now lock horns in a straight shoot-out to retain senior status for 2019.

This is a repeat of the Lidl NFL Division 2 final between the sides in May, when Tipp won to gain promotion to the top flight.

Tipp also had the edge when they visited Cavan in the group stages of the League campaign, and they won’t fear another visit to the Breffni County.

This game was switched to Sunday to avoid a dual clash involving Tipperary star Orla O’Dwyer, and the Premier County agreed to play Cavan on Breffni soil.

They won’t lack for motivation as they venture into the Lion’s Den but Cavan will be anxious to make home advantage count.

Manager James Daly has made one change in personnel to the team that started against Monaghan last weekend, with Sinead O’Sullivan handed a start ahead of Lauren McVeety, who’s named on the bench.

Tipperary manager Shane Ronayne has made three changes to his starting line-up, following defeat to Waterford last weekend.

Laura Dillon, Kate Davey and Sarah Everard drop out of the team, with Lucy Spillane, Emma Buckley and Roisin Howard drafted in.

Cavan team: 

1 Evelyn Baugh Lurgan
2 Rachael Doonan Templeport
3 Laura Fitzpatrick St. Finbarrs
4 Sheila Reilly Mullahoran
5 Sinead Greene Templeport
6 Grainne McGlade Arva/Killeshandra
7 Sinead O ‘Sullivan Lacken
8 Ailish Cornyn St. Francis
9 Donna English Arva/Killeshandra
10 Catriona Smith killygarry
11 Aisling Maguire Templeport
12 Catherine Dolan lurgan
13 Andrea O’Reilly Baileboro
14 Ashling Sheridan Mullahoran
15 Ciara Finnegan Crosserlough

Tipperary team: 

1 Lauren Fitzpatrick Ballymacarbry
2 Lucy Spillane Fethard
3 Maria Curley Templemore
4 Brid Condon Aherlow
5 Anna Rose Kennedy Aherlow
6 Samantha Lambert Ardfinnan
7 Siobhan Condon Aherlow
8 Aisling McCarthy Cahir
9 Orla O Dwyer Boherlahan
10 Emma Buckley Cahir
11 Aishling Moloney Cahir
12 Niamh Lonergan Moyle Rovers
13 Roisin Howard Cahir
14 Mairead Morrissey Brian Borus
15 Gillian O Brien Moyle Rovers


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs