Here are the Cork and Galway teams who will battle it out for 2019 Lidl National League Division 1 glory

2019 LIDL NFL Division 1 Final – SUNDAY


Cork v Galway; Parnell Park, Dublin, 4pm (M Farrelly, Cavan) – LIVE TG4

WILL it be a 12th title for Cork – or a maiden crown for Galway?

That question will be answered from 4pm on Sunday when the counties lock horns in the 2019 Lidl National League Division 1 Final.

Cork’s record in this competition has been one of incredible consistency since the Rebelettes won the first of their 11 titles to date in 2005.

They completed back-to-back wins the following year, added four in a row from 2008-2011, and five-in-a-row from 2013-2017.

This new team being moulded by Ephie Fitzgerald recovered from a slow start in this year’s campaign, with two defeats in their opening three games, to reach the Final.

The group campaign concluded with a notable victory over Dublin, before Cork defeated Mick Bohan’s 2018 Lidl NFL champions and TG4 All-Ireland holders in a classic recent semi-final, that required extra-time at Nowlan Park.

Those wins will have come as a major psychological boost for Cork, who lost out to Dublin in the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland decider.

Opponents Galway suffered Lidl NFL and TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship semi-final defeats to Dublin last year, but they’re now in the hunt for a very first Division 1 League title.

Galway have been unlucky to finish as runners-up on five previous occasions in the Division 1 decider, most recently in 2015 when Cork won out after a replay at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

Galway’s form during the group stages was most impressive, as they won six out of seven games, including a victory over Cork.

The one blip was a loss to Dublin but Galway were on form in their recent semi-final against Donegal, and will come into this game full of confidence.

This should be a game to savour, between two teams who both possess plenty of attacking talent, while also being well-organised and difficult to break down.

Cork have made three changes in personnel following an extra-time epic semi-final victory over Dublin, with two of those in defence.

Eimear Meaney comes in for Melissa Duggan, while Daire Kiely replaces Shauna Kelly.

There’s an enforced change in attack, with Áine O’Sullivan ruled out through suspension following the red card she picked up against Dublin.  

Her replacement is former underage star Sadhbh O’Leary at corner forward, while Fitzgerald has kept captain Doireann O’Sullivan in reserve, as she continues to nurse a back injury.

Galway have named Leanne Coen in attack, and she replaces Sarah Conneally in the only change in personnel from the semi-final victory over Donegal.


Cork team: 

1 Martina O’Brien (capt.) Clonakilty
2 Clare O’Shea Beara
3 Hannah Looney Aghada
4 Eimear Meaney Mourneabbey
5 Daire Kiely Valley Rovers
6 Aishling Hutchings Fermoy
7 Eimear Kiely Valley Rovers
8 Maire O’Callaghan Mourneabbey
9 Niamh Cotter Beara
10 Orlagh Farmer Midleton
11 Ciara O’Sullivan Mourneabbey
12 Laura O’Mahony O’Donovan Rossa
13 Libby Coppinger St. Colum’s
14 Orla Finn Kinsale
15 Sadhbh O’Leary Kinsale

Galway team: 

1 Lisa Murphy Kilkerrin Clonberne
2 Shauna Molloy St Furseys Headford
3 Sarah Lynch Naomh Anna Leitir Moir
4 Fabienne Cooney Claregalway
5 Orla Murphy Claregalway
6 Sinead Burke Ballyboden St Endas
7 Charlotte Cooney Claregalway
8 Louise Ward Kilkerrin Clonberne
9 Barbara Hannon Dunmore McHales
10 Olivia Divilly Kilkerrin Clonberne
11 Tracey Leonard (capt.) Corofin
12 Megan Glynn Claregalway
13 Leanne Coen Corofin
14 Roisin Leonard Corofin
15 Mairead Seoighe Clonbur

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs