Hetherton drafted into Dublin line-up; 2 changes for Cork - LIDL NFL Division 1 team news

NIAMH Hetherton has earned a start for Dublin as the champions prepare to welcome Cork to Croke Park for Saturday’s Lidl NFL Division 1B clash (5.15pm, TG4).

Hetherton comes in up front for Oonagh White and that’s the only change in personnel as the Sky Blues chase a second successive win in this year’s competition.

For Cork, this is a must-win clash after they lost out to Meath in Round 1 – and a second defeat could prove fatal for their semi-final hopes.

Roisin Phelan and Libby Coppinger come into the starting line-up for this game, with Sarah Leahy and Áine O’Sullivan dropping to the bench as Cork prepare for a repeat of the 2021 Division 1 decider.

Phelan and Leahy and Coppinger for O’Sullivan were substitutions made by manager Shane Ronayne against Meath last Saturday, as the Leesiders lost out in Navan.

The other three games in Division 1 this weekend all take place on Sunday – with TG4 All-Ireland Senior Champions Meath making the trip to Fraher Field, Dungarvan, for a 2pm clash against Waterford.

Meath bring in Ciara Smyth for Emma White, with hosts Waterford unchanged following their defeat to Dublin.

In Division 1A, there’s a tasty Connacht derby between old rivals Galway and Mayo pencilled in for Tuam Stadium (2pm).

Galway have handed starts to Fabienne Cooney and Linda Booth for this one, with Shauna Brennan and Kate Slevin dropping to the bench.

Mayo are unchanged following a big win over Westmeath at the Connacht GAA Air Dome last Saturday evening.

Donegal, meanwhile, are unchanged as they make the trip to St Loman’s, Mullingar, for a 3pm start on the 3G pitch.

Westmeath make one change for this one, as Niamh Nolan comes in for Ashley Ruane at midfield.

The Waterford-Meath, Mayo-Galway and Westmeath-Donegal games can all be watched by accessing the LGFA’s subscription portal: https://page.inplayer.com/lgfaseason2022/


Dublin (v Cork): A Shiels; J Tobin, L Caffrey, H Leahy; A Kane, M Byrne (capt.), O Nolan; J Dunne, K McDaid; C O’Connor, N Hetherton, K Sullivan; J Egan, H Tyrrell, N Owens.

Cork (v Dublin): M O’Brien; M Ambrose, R Phelan, M Cahalane; L O’Mahony, M Duggan (capt.), E O’Shea; A Hutchings, S Kelly; E Cleary, L Coppinger, D Kiely; S O’Leary, K Quirke, O Finn

Galway (v Mayo): A Griffin; S Molloy, E Gavin, A Ní Cheallaigh; K Geraghty, C Cooney, F Cooney; A Davoren, S Ní Loingsigh (capt.); L Coen, M Seoighe, L Finnegan; A O’Rourke, A Trill, L Booth.

Mayo (v Galway): A Tarpey; É Ronayne (capt.), S El Massry, S Lally; T O’Connor, F McHale, N Hession; S Cafferky, A Geraghty; S Mulvihill, L Cafferky, S Howley; R Byrnes, C Whyte, M Reilly.

Westmeath (v Donegal): A Temple; M Fagan, L Power, A Alford; C Blundell, F Coyle, C Kelly; N Nolan, T Dillon (capt.); A Jones, L McCartan, K Boyce-Jordan; S Dillon, K Hegarty, S Lyons.

Donegal (v Westmeath): R McCafferty; S McFadden, E McGinley, N Boyle; N Carr, F McManamon, T Hegarty; Nicole McLaughlin, R Rodgers; S White, Niamh McLaughlin (capt.), S Twohig; B McLaughlin, K Guthrie, G McLaughlin.

Waterford (v Meath): E Gallagher; M Dunford, C McGrath, R Casey; A Mullaney, Karen McGrath, L Cusack; E Murray, L Mulcahy; B McMaugh, H Power, M Wall; K Murray, C Fennell, Kate McGrath.

Meath (v Waterford): M McGuirk; K Newe, M.K. Lynch, O Duff; S Ennis (capt.), E Troy, A Cleary; M O’Shaughnessy, O Lally; M Thynne, V Wall, E Duggan; C Smyth, S Grimes, N O’Sullivan.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs