All-Ireland champions Dunboyne crowned club team of the year in Meath

Meath Ladies Celebration night!

The following were recipients of awards on Saturday night at Meath Ladies Annual Awards night.


Junior D Player of the Year                  Grainne Vaugh – Na Fianna

Junior C Player of the Year                Carol Keenan – Dunboyne

Junior B Player of the Year             Susie O’Rourke – Skryne

Junior A Player of the Year            Aoibheann Leahy – Navan O’Mahonys

Intermediate Player of the Year         Aoibhin Cleary – Donaghmore/Ashbourne

Senior Player of the Year            Geraldine Doherty – St. Ultans

Rising Star Award          Petra Reilly – Royal Gaels

Club TEAM of the Year         Dunboyne Ladies

CLUB of the year              Gaeil Colmcilles

Club PERSON of the Year          Mary O’Shaughnessy – Donaghmore/Ashbourne

Outstanding Contribution to Meath LGFA       Deirdre Mitchell – Gaeil Colmcille

Lifetime Achievement award      Ollie Bowe – Royal Gaels

Minor Player of the year    Katie Newe – Ratoath

U21 Player of the year           Stacey Grimes – Seneschalstown

Senior Player of the year         Maire O’Shaughnessy – Donaghmore/Ashbourne

Special Achievement Award     Seneschalstown (for having won 13 from 15 Senior Championships)

Hall of Fame Inductee        Geraldine Sheridan – Seneschalstown

Royal Star Awards:

  1. Irene Munnelly – St. Ultans
  2. Sarah Bagnall – Boardsmill
  3. Niamh Lister – Simonstown
  4. Aideen Guy – Boardsmill
  5. Niamh Gallogly – Royal Gaels
  6. Shauna Ennis – Na Fianna
  7. Aoibhin Cleary – Donaghmore/Ashbourne
  8. Maire O’Shaughnessy – Donaghmore/Ashbourne
  9. Niamh O’Sullivan
  10. Stacey Grimes = Seneschalstown
  11. Lauryn Grier – Simonstown
  12. Emma Healy – Oldcastle
  13. Geraldine Doherty – St. Ultans
  14. Vikki Wall – Dunboyne
  15. Bridgetta Lynch – Oldcastle
  16. Joanna Byrne – Oldcastle
  17. Marion Farrelly – St. Michaels
  18. Katie Newe – Ratoath
  19. Aoife Thompson – Dunboyne
  20. Orlaith Duff – Dee Rangers

Green Star Awards:

  1. Kathy Butler – Navan O’Mahonys
  2. Aoife Farrell – Simonstown
  3. Emma White – St. Pats
  4. Carol Keenan – Dunboyne
  5. Orla Finnegan – Seneschalstown
  6. Orlagh Lally – Clann na nGael
  7. Edel McGrane – Walterstown
  8. Kate Byrne – Duleek/Bellewstown
  9. Aoibheann Leahy – Navan O’Mahonys
  10. Bláthnaid Keogh – Clann na nGael
  11. Megan Thynne – Dunsany
  12. Jacinta Maher – Navan O’Mahonys
  13. Susie O’Rourke – Skryne
  14. Eimear Smith – Seneschalstown
  15. Emma Duggan – Dunboyne
  16. Katie Brangan – St. Pats
  17. Áine Carr – Wolfe Tones
  18. Marie Masterson – Moylagh
  19. Sarah Lynch – Trim
  20. Saoirse McPeake – St. Colmcilles
  21. Katie Dowling – St. Pats

Both the Royal Stars (Senior & Intermediate Championship teams) and Green Stars (All Junior Championship teams) were picked by the Managers and or Mentors of the opposition teams after each game in the various Championships. They were asked to nominate the three best players from the opposition and forward to an All Star Committee. The votes were then counted and the top 20/21 Players were picked as either a Royal Star or a Green Star.

Early in 2018 there will be a game played between the Royal and Green Stars. Each of the players will be presented with a specially commissioned jersey on the night of the game. All proceeds of this game will go to a charity/charities to be decided on soon.

The Player with the most votes in each category was then deemed to be this year’s Player of the Championship in each group.

Along with all of the above this year’s Minors were presented with their Leinster Championship Medals by Leinster Council President Finbarr O’Driscoll. The victorious Intermediate team were also presented with the Leinster Intermediate Championship medals.




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs