Joanne O’Riordan to be Guest of Honour at 2013 TG4 All Star Awards.

 The Ladies Gaelic Football Association today announced that Joanne O’Riordan will be the guest of honour at the 2013 TG4 Ladies Football All Star Awards. Joanne has recently been the subject of the ‘No Limbs, No Limits’ documentary and has been a previous recipient of the ‘Young Person of the Year Award’ as well as having addressed the United Nations. Joanne is an inspirational figure to many people and is also a big fan of Ladies Gaelic Football.


‘I was delighted to be invited to take part in the All Stars. I am a huge fan of ladies football and it is even more meaningful for me as Cork are the All Ireland Champions for the 8th time in 9 year which is an amazing achievement.’


The 2013 TG4 Ladies Football All Star Awards take place this Saturday, November 9th, at the Citywest Hotel in Saggart, County Dublin. 45 Players have been nominated for the All Star Awards with 11 coming from each of this years finalists, Cork and Monaghan.


From the 45 nominees 15 will be selected in their positions as the 2013 TG4 All Star Team. Along with the selection of the 15 All Stars, Player’s Player of the year awards will be presented to 1 player in each of the Junior, Intermediate and Senior Grades. The Player’s Player award is selected by the players competing in each grade who can only select a player from outside of their own county. Previous winners of the Senior Player’s Player of the Year Award include Juliet Murphy and Briege Corkery, both from Cork.


The 2013 Hall of Fame Award will be presented to the most successful Ladies Football Player of all time. Mary Jo Curran was a fixture of the great Kerry team that won 11 All Ireland titles between 1982 and 1993 during which period she claimed no fewer than 10 All Star Awards.


Each of the four provinces have also selected their Young Player of the Year and all 4 of these future stars will receive their awards on Saturday. Roscommon Star, Tess Murtagh, from Shannon Gaels is the Connacht Young Player of the Year, Neasa Byrd from Crosserlough in Cavan will receive the ulster Young Player of the Year Award, St. Michael’s club star, Kate Lenehan from Cork will receive the Munster award and Lucy McCartan from Westmeath will be honoured with the Leinster Young Player of the Year Award.


Speaking about the 2013 TG4 All Star Awards LGFA President, Pat Quill, said ‘2013 has been a fantastic year for Ladies Gaelic Football as we celebrated our 40th Championship season, we enjoyed a great year and witnessed 3 brilliant football matches in Croke Park on September 29th. The 45 nominees have illuminated our game throughout the year and the 15 players selected on the All Star team will have earned their accolades after one of the highest quality seasons in recent years. We are delighted that Joanne has agreed to be our guest of honour, she is an amazing person that has overcome so many setbacks and I am very much looking forward to hearing her speak on Saturday.’


Guest of Honour


Joanne O’Riordan


2013 Hall of Fame Recipient


Mary Jo Curran (Kerry)


2013 Connacht Young Player of the Year


Tess Murtagh (Roscommon)


2013 Leinster Young Player of the Year


Lucy McCartan (Westmeath)


2013 Munster Young Player of the Year


Kate Lenehan (Cork)


2013 Ulster Young Player of the Year


Neasa Byrd (Cavan)



2013 TG4 Ladies Football All Star Award Nominees


Goalkeepers: Yvonne Byrne (Mayo), Caron Fay (Cavan), Linda Martin (Monaghan)


Defenders: Rena Buckley (Cork), Sinéad Burke (Galway), Briege Corkery (Cork), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Emer Flaherty (Galway), Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Laura McEnaney (Monaghan), Caroline Kelly (Kerry), Cáit Lynch (Kerry), Aoife Lyons (Kerry), Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan), Gráinne McNally (Monaghan), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Christina Reilly (Monaghan), Bríd Stack (Cork), Noelle Tierney (Mayo), Anne Marie Walsh (Cork)


Midfielders: Bernie Breen (Kerry), Amanda Casey (Monaghan), Annette Clarke (Galway), Juliet Murphy (Cork), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Angela Walsh (Cork)


Forwards: Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Nollaig Cleary (Cork), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Aisling Doonan (Cavan), Aileen Gilroy (Mayo), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry), Caroline Little (Fermanagh), Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Cathriona McConnell (Monaghan), Fiona McHale (Mayo), Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan), Mairéad Morrissey (Tipperary), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Louise Ní Muircheartaigh (Kerry), Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork), Bronagh Sheridan (Cavan), Cora Staunton (Mayo)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs