John the Baptist (Limerick) 1-14 Sacred Heart (Cork) 3-07

John the Baptist (Limerick) 1-14 Sacred Heart (Cork) 3-07

The Munster Pat the Baker junior B Post Primary final was played at Rathcormac the home of Bride Rovers G.A.A club on Tuesday
March 5th in superb conditions.

This was a fast free flowing game of football served up by both schools. The South Limerick School were more accurate in the opening quarter and were four points to the good before Sacred Heart opened their account.
The game ebbed from end to end and with the Limerick forwards splitting the Cork defence to enable Catriona Ryan raise a green flag for her school ensuring they were ahead at the interval 1-07 to 0-05.

The opening quarter of the second half belonged to John the Baptist and with the half back line of Jessie Ryan, Captain Emma D Kelly and Triona O Donnell defending expertly they ensured their school pushed further ahead and it took Sacred Heart all of twenty minutes before they registered their first score of the half. Within a space of minutes, the Cork girls had two goals courtesy of Marie O Donovan leaving three points between the sides. However up popped Captain Emma D Kelly after great work by Nicole Murphy to send her up field and to add to her tally scoring her second point of the day. Still more drama and back came Sacred Heart through Laura Cooke to score her sides third goal after a mix up in the John the Baptist defence but despite conceding the three goals John the Baptist had the final say on the scoreboard to be crowned Munster junior B champions 2008.

A delighted and outstanding captain Emma D. Kelly accepted the Munster trophy from Munster Post Primary Chairman Dan O Mahony to scenes of joy and ecstasy whilst the Pat the Baker player of the final went to Jessie Ryan of John the Baptist.

Scorers: John the Baptist: Catriona Ryan 1-02, Maria Byrne & Sarah Connolly 0-03 each, Emma D Kelly 0-02, Aoife Power, Maria Murphy, Nicole Murphy & Mairead Ryan 0-01 each

Sacred Heart: Marie O Donovan 2-00, Laura Cooke 1-01, Sinead O Neill 0-02, Beulah McManus, Hollie Hayes, Aine O Leary & Aoife O Donovan 0-01each

Teams: John the Baptist: Carla O Riordan, Clodagh Keogh, Emma J Kelly, Siobhan Condon, Jessie Ryan, Emma D Kelly captain, Triona O Donnell, Mairead Ryan, Nicole Murphy, Maria Murphy, Maria Byrne, Aoife Power, Sarah Connolly, Denise Sheehy, Catriona Ryan. Katey Fogarty, Jean Cleary, Aideen McAuley, Thresa Leahy, Hayley Finn, Aisling Power, Eimear Ryan.

Sacred Heart: Aisling O Shea, Siobhan Hennessy, Niamh Deasy, Aoife O Neill, Sinead O Neill, Amy Burke, Kelly Hennessy, Beulah McManus, Aine O Leary, Hollie Hayes, Marie O Donovan, Rebecca Crowley, Ellen Hall, Aoife O Donovan, Laura Cooke, Niamh Tobin, Hannah Butler, Donna Moloney, Jamie O Regan, Amanda Harrington, Heather O Sullivan, Aine Lynch, Threse Cullinane, Rachel Jennings, Alaine Beechinor, Anna O Hea, Maeve Clancy, Grace McManus, Allanah O Sullivan.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs