Kerry climb to the top in Annascaul

Kerry climb to the top in Annascaul

Kerry 6-12     Mayo 1-5

Kerry collected their second brace of points with a comprehensive win over Mayo at a sun splashed Annascaul last Sunday in this Ladies Suzuki National League tie. While manager Robbie Griffin and his back room team will be well satisfied with the result they are well aware that far sterner tests lay ahead. Nevertheless winning can become a habit and next weekend the ladies travel to Tyrone for their first away game and this will give a far better indication just how good this Kerry side really is. It was indeed a very impressive performance and we must remember that Mayo are the current National League champions. They were short a number of players including their star Cora Staunton but the home side took over from the throw in and never let up.
Geraldine O’Sé turned in a great display in front of her own Annascaul supporters and with some lovely inter passing she set up full forward Debra Murphy of the Legion for two goals in the opening five minutes. In the 20th min wing forward Aoife O’Sullivan from Rathmore, player of the match, raised another green flag as the winners piled on the pressure. Full forward Patrice Coyle gave the visitors some glimmer of hope when she punched a high centre to the Kerry net. However just on the stroke of half time Patrice Dennehy and Geraldine O’Sé combined beautifully with Sarah Houlihan and the Laune Rangers starlet rattled the net from close in. Geraldine from frees and Aoife O’Sullivan had also tagged on two points each. Margaret O’Donoghue chipped in with a point and the Kerry ladies had the game sown up at the short whistle, 4-5 to 1-2.
The second half was a stroll in the February sun and two more goals, one from excellent Kerry midfielder Margaret Donoghue and a cracking goal from Aoife O Sullivan following a defence splitting solo run copper fastened an impressive victory. Kerry coasted to the final whistle and could afford to give their many substitutes a run out. There is a good bit of steel and hardness in this Kerry side and I was particularly impressed by the line up the middle. Grainne Ni Fhlatharta, Caroline Kelly, both midfielders, Margaret o Donoghue and Bernie Reen, Patrice Dennehy and full forward Debra Murphy. Well done to the Annascaul club for their excellent arrangements, and the Lispole youngster’s band added greatly to what was a historic occasion. Now if our brilliant Irish captain Sara O Connor can get over her injuries and return for the championship this young Kerry side could be there with the best of them.

Kerry: Laoise O’Driscoll, Mairead Finnegan, Grainne Ni Fhlatharta, Maura o’ Connor, Joanne Brosnan, Caroline Kelly, Bernie Cronin, Margaret O Donoghue(1-2), Bernie Reen, Aoife o Sullivan(2-2), Patrice Dennehy (0-1), Sarah Jane Joy, Sarah Houlihan (1-1), Debra Murphy (2-2), Geraldine o Se,Cap. (0-4,2f.).
Subs Used. Riona Ni Chinneide, Deirdre Fenton, Louise Ni Mhuirtceartaigh, Cassandra Buckley, Linda o Connor.

Mayo: Deirdre Devine, Martina Gallagher, Marcella Heffernan, Carmel Bourke, Aine McLean, Clara o Hara, Sharon Bourke, Clodagh, Cummerskey, Natasha begin, Aoife Herbert (0-1), Fiona McHale, Brege Murphy, Lisa Cafferkey (0-4), Patrice Coyle (1-0), Billy Joe McGuire.

Referee:  Michael O’Keeffe. Cork.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs