Kerry ignite Division 1 challenge with impressive eight-point beating of Mayo

Lidl National Football League Division 1

By Donal Barry at Brosna

Kerry 2-14 Mayo 2-6

Munster champions Kerry ignited their league challenge with an impressive and deserved eight-point victory over Mayo at Brosna this afternoon.

Leading from start to finish, Graham Shine’s side were in control throughout with new midfield partnership of Meabh Barry and Lorraine Scanlon proving a solid one enabling both Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh and Sarah Houlihan to enjoy some good early ball as the pair certain got the upper hand of the Mayo defence scoring 1-10 between them.

Kerry were 0-3 to the good before Sinead Cafferkey had Mayo’s first point on ten minutes.

However, it was in the next five minutes that Kerry would do the damage with a Ni Mhuircheartaigh goal sandwiched in between a pair of points to push Kerry 1-5 to 0-1 clear at the end of the first quarter.

They would lead at the break 1-7 to 0-3.

The second half was barely 20 seconds old when Meabh Barry’s long range shot from 40 yards found its way to the net with Niamh Neary unable to hold the ball on the goal line.

Still, Mayo fought away and Niamh and Grace Kelly added points to reduce the gap to nine points (2-8 to 0-5) by the 37 minute but it was Ni Mhuircheartaigh and Houlihan who added another brace to keep the home side in complete control.

Aileen Gilroy’s 26 minute goal for Mayo looked like a consolation goal (2-13 to 1-6) but Mayo would get even closer when Tamara O’Connor was pulled down in the square and Sinead Caffekey goaled from the resultant penalty.

However, it was as close as they were going to get as was as Kerry collected their first two points of the campaign as they look forward to a trip to Monaghan next time out with Mayo taking on neighbours Galway.

Scorers for Mayo: Sinead Cafferkey 1-1 (1-0 pen), Aileen Gilroy 1-0, Niamh Kelly 0-2, Grace Kelly 0-2 (0-1F) Fiona McHale 0-1

Mayo: Niamh Neary, Eilish Ronayne, Sarah Tierney, Sadbh Larkin, Orla Conlon, Marie Corbett, Doirean Hughes, Clodagh McManamon, Fiona McHale, Sinead Cafferkey, Aileen Gilroy, Sarah Mulvihill, Niamh Kelly, Rachel Kearns, Grace Kelly

Subs: Shauna Howley for Rachel Kearns (H/T) Amy Dowling for Sarah Mulvhill (33) Saoirse Ludden for Grace Kelly (51) Tamara O’Connor for Clodagh McManamon (56) Nicola O’Malley for Orla Conlon (58 Inj)

Scorers for Kerry: Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh 1-5 (0-2F), Sarah Houlihan 0-5 (0-3F), Meabh Barry 1-0, Eilish O Leary 0-2, Brid Ryan 0-1, Lorraine Scanlon 0-1,

Kerry: Laura Fitzgerald, Elish Lynch, Deidre Kearney, Aisling O Connell, Ciara Murphy, Aislinn Desmond, Kate O Sullivan, Meabh Barry, Lorraine Scanlon Andrea Murphy, , Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh, Sarah Houlihan, Brid Ryan, Eilish O Leary, Aoife Geaney

Subs: Fiadhna Tagney for Andrea Murphy (40) Amy Foley for Brid Ryan (46) Sophie Lynch for Aoife Geaney (46) Emma Dineen for Meabh Barry (53) Deirdre Geaney for Eilish O’Leary (56)

Referee: Keith Delahunty (Tipperary) 

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs